Citing Business Sources
- APA 7th ed. Citation for Business SourcesSchemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
APA style guide to electronic references by ISBN: 1433803097Publication Date: 2007Online guide to APA citation.
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01Course reserve copy - in library use.
Research and Learning Librarian
Company Profiles
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowCompany profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
- Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowDatabase of corporate information covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading. Use tools to research or create predefined reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowArticles from global newspapers, newswires, trade journals, and magazines on a range of topics related to business, economics, politics, current events, trends and government data. Also contains company profiles, news articles and corporate financials. Includes Forbes Magazine, the Dow Jones, and Reuters newswires.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowContains financials and information for private companies. Includes deals, funding, and investors, specializing in the U.S.. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access to a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowInvestment information and analyses on industries and companies including industry surveys, company profiles, financial forecasts, earning and dividends reports, and reports for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. Coverage: updated daily.
- Winmo This link opens in a new windowData and information on advertisers and advertising agencies. Includes key contacts, ad spends, advertising expenditures by media type, brand name information, fiscal year-end and annual sales and more.
Tutorials
Click the links below to view instructions on accessing company information in the databases:
- Help finding Company Dossiers in Nexis UniThis tutorial (13 minutes) demonstrates how users can navigate and search for company dossiers within Nexis Uni.
Databases for ESG
- Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowDatabase of corporate information covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading. Use tools to research or create predefined reports.
Steps to locate ESG information in Mergent Market Atlas:
ESG Ratings reports include business description, ICB classification information, ESG rating, rating history, pillar scores, country and industry averages, and their exposure.
- Use the left navigation controls to filter the ESG ratings data based on company name, ESG rating range, country or ICB Industry or Sub-Sector
- Use the Report Date dropdown to choose a reporting period.
- Use the Export button to export filtered data to a CSV file.
- Click on report headings to sort the data.
- Select companies with the check boxes follwed by the Compare Selected button to view ESG details in table or chart form.
- Click on the PDF report icons to view the 1 page or 2 page ESG report.
- IBIS World Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowU.S. industry reports including key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends.
Search tips for locating ESG information within Industry Reports:
In IBISWorld, ESG information can typically be found integrated into industry reports, particularly in sections focused on industry trends, risks, and outlooks. Here's where to look:
-
Industry Outlook or Trends: ESG factors might be discussed as part of broader industry trends. Look for sections that cover sustainability, regulatory pressures, or changes in consumer behavior toward more sustainable practices.
-
Risk Management: Some reports include a section on risk that may discuss environmental risks (e.g., climate change), social risks (e.g., labor practices), and governance risks (e.g., regulatory compliance).
-
Regulation & Policy: Industries heavily affected by ESG concerns often have sections discussing government regulations, environmental laws, and corporate responsibility. These can indirectly inform you about ESG factors influencing the industry.
-
Operating Conditions: This section may include information on how industries are adapting to new sustainability standards, green technologies, or changing social expectations.
Articles Databases
Search Terms:
- name of your company
- leadership OR management OR organization
- CSR OR corporate social responsibility
- Social responsibility in business
- ESG OR Environment social governance
- DEIB OR diversity equity inclusion belonging
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new windowArticles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
News Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowArticles from global newspapers, newswires, trade journals, and magazines on a range of topics related to business, economics, politics, current events, trends and government data. Also contains company profiles, news articles and corporate financials. Includes Forbes Magazine, the Dow Jones, and Reuters newswires.
- Harvard Business ReviewWritten for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.