Newspapers
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post (website) This link opens in a new window
Company Databases
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowCompany profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Chicago Data
- Chicago Data PortalSearch by keyword or browse the data catalog by category.
- Cook County Open DataSearch by keyword or browse the data catalog by category.
Best Bets
- IBIS World Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowU.S. industry reports including key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowResearch reports on consumer markets and products in the United States. Includes related demographic data and analysis, market opportunities and strategies, and articles on trends in global consumer markets. Coverage: new reports added weekly. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
- WARC This link opens in a new window
Articles on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. It includes case studies on marketing campaign effectiveness, best practice guides, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and more.
- Winmo This link opens in a new windowData and information on advertisers and advertising agencies. Includes key contacts, ad spends, advertising expenditures by media type, brand name information, fiscal year-end and annual sales and more.
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new windowData on consumer buying habits and preferences, demographic characteristics, and media usage from the annual National Consumer Survey. Create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and media behavior. Coverage: most recent data available is two years old. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
Data Mapping
- Census Bureau - Data & MapsView and create custom maps using Census data tables and dynamically add geographics and filters to create maps using tools such as the Census Business Builder and My Community Explorer
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 200,000+ data variables, including demographic census data, 23 million+ businesses, and survey marketing & health data. To access, first create a personal workspace or log-in as a guest.
- Data WrapperCreate your own interactive data map.