Research Guides: Business Administration: Advertising/PR

Advertising Magazines and Journals

Industry Information

IBIS World Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
This resource is funded by the generosity of John and Terese Terry (Loyola class of 1959).
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Terry Fund.

Resources in Advertising & Public Relations

Below are some general resources in the disciplines of advertising, public relations, and marketing. Some are databases or journals, whereas others are tools used in the field to research customers, products, and industries.

Advertising Databases

AdForum This link opens in a new window
A searchable library of commercials, ad campaigns of all media types and a directory of advertising and marketing agencies. Also includes case studies, advertising awards information, industry news, and job resources. Coverage: 2000 - present. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Articles on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. It includes case studies on marketing campaign effectiveness, best practice guides, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and more.
Provided by the Terry Fund.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Data and information on advertisers and advertising agencies. Includes key contacts, ad spends, advertising expenditures by media type, brand name information, fiscal year-end and annual sales and more.
SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) This link opens in a new window
Access to media rates and data for the advertising industry. Includes advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other information for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and magazines.

Ad*Access
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

Meltwater This link opens in a new window
Social media monitoring and engagement software. Search by keyword through Tweets, Reddit, Instagram and Facebook posts to create instant dashboards and follow trending issues over time. Limited to 4 concurrent users. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
Provided by the Terry Fund.

Consumer Research Databases

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Research reports on consumer markets and products in the United States. Includes related demographic data and analysis, market opportunities and strategies, and articles on trends in global consumer markets. Coverage: new reports added weekly. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
Data on consumer buying habits and preferences, demographic characteristics, and media usage from the annual National Consumer Survey. Create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and media behavior. Coverage: most recent data available is two years old. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A mapping application that creates thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. To access, first create a personal workspace.
Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on communication and mass media from scholarly journals. Coverage: 1900 - present.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Business Administration

Advertising Magazines and Journals

Company Information

Industry Information

Resources in Advertising & Public Relations

Advertising Databases

Consumer Research Databases