Research Guides: LGBTQ/Queer Studies: Databases

Academic Databases

Academic Databases provide researchers access to an online collection of journal article citations as well as many full-text articles. You can search databases using subject headings, keywords, authors and more. This guide provides three sections of databases: those directly related to LGBTQ Studies, subject-specific databases that cover the topics most frequently cross-listed with LGBTQ Studies courses at Loyola and general databases that are great gateways to even more information.

LGBTQ Studies Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender Part 3: Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources related to gender studies, LGBTQ+, women's studies, and feminism. Coverage: 1600 - 1940.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles devoted to LGBT+ interests, including the history and evolution of LGBT culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature. Coverage: 1950s - recent years.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.

Subject Specific Databases

Alternative Press Index 1991-Present This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of alternative sources, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering international and interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage: 1991-present.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index Archive is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Includes coverage of theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections related to Catholicism, religion, and theology. Includes the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Coverage: 1949 - present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on communication and mass media from scholarly journals. Coverage: 1900 - present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with some full-text and abstracts covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Political Science Abstracts - World Wide This link opens in a new window
Indexes of political science and international relations literature. Including abstracts of journals, provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

LGBTQ/Queer Studies

Academic Databases

LGBTQ Studies Databases

Subject Specific Databases

General Databases