Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Philosophy: Citing Sources

Locate core research resources in philosophy and ethics

Style Handbooks and Manuals

Copies of each of these texts are available on each floor of the Information Commons and on reserve in Cudahy Library:

The library also provides The Chicago Manual of Style as an ebook.

Chicago style's Notes and Bibliography format prescribes footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography. The Author-Date format prescribes in-text citations and, at the end of the paper, a list of references or works cited.

An open access Chicago style quick guide helps with the basics, for papers styled using the Notes and Bibliography system and papers styled using the Author-Date system.

The library's ebook collection includes several recent and classic titles on grammar and writing style:

Citation Management with Zotero

Zotero, an open source citation management system, helps researchers collect, organize, cite, and share their research. Graduate-level researchers and above, as well as undergraduates anticipating work on related themes all make best use of citation management when they start early and integrate their citation management system into their research practices and habits. Concentrate on developing and maintaining a library of one's prospective sources and past-used ones; the researcher who dies has a rich resource of existing source material at the outset of new projects and it will continue to grow thereafter.

Also use Zotero to maintain lists of books from classes and seminars in order to compile them into reading lists for comprehensive exams or for other future uses. Journal articles, films, and other source types, digital and analog, could also appear in these lists.

University Libraries provides RefWorks, a Zotero competitor. Current RefWorks users and those who want to consider it before adopting Zotero may write to me with questions. RefWorks has created a series of short tutorials to help you get started and learn more advanced features.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Jane Currie
chat loading...
Contact:
jcurrie@luc.edu
Website