LibGuides: Philosophy: Ethics

Databases for the Study of Ethics

Global Digital Library on Ethics
Provides citations to articles and other publications on ethics; use the catalog to determine whether a cited item is available here or requires interlibrary loan.
Bioethics Information Resources
Presents two indexes, one to bioethics-related information in PubMed and one to bioethics-related information in the catalog of the National Library of Medicine; use the catalog to determine whether a cited item is available here or requires interlibrary loan.
GenEthx
Indexes information on ethics and public policy issues related to genetics; use the catalog to determine whether a cited item is available here or requires interlibrary loan.

Subject-Specific and Interdisciplinary Databases

Ethics is an interdisciplinary topic and, as such, one or more of a variety of databases may be best suited to your research. See the appropriate guide for databases intended for particular subject areas.

For searches across the disciplines, try:

Academic Search Complete
Indexes articles from journals and magazines in every subject area.

Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Ethics-Focused Online Reference Sources

International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Provides entries on the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in normative ethics, metaethics, and practical ethics.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Provides entries on topics in health care, animal research, population control, and the environment.

Codes of Ethics Online
Provides codes of ethics for hundreds of professional societies, corporations, government agencies, and academic institutions.

Philosophy

Subject Librarian

All-Hours Research Help

Databases for the Study of Ethics

Subject-Specific and Interdisciplinary Databases

Ethics-Focused Online Reference Sources