Research Guides: Philosophy: Online Text Collections

Text and Document Collections: Classical Period

Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Provides Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Collects texts in Greek from the time of the poet Homer in the 8th century BCE to the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453.
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

Text and Document Collections: Medieval Period

Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window
Contains medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Provides texts published in a variety of languages between 1200 and 1923.
Corpus Thomisticum This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete works of Thomas Aquinas.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Provides Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
Includes medieval historical sources.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Presents primary works by prominent philosophers.
Patrologia Graecae This link opens in a new window
Presents the Greek portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, an edited collection of writings of the church fathers through 1439, published between 1857 and 1866.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Presents the Latin portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, an edited collection of writings of the church fathers from Tertullian (200 AD) to the death of Pope Innocent III (1216), published between 1844 and 1855.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Collects texts in Greek from the time of the poet Homer in the 8th century BCE to the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453.
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

Text and Document Collections: Early Modern Period

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
French texts, most published in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, on diverse subjects, including philosophy.
A cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. Contains the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Provides texts published in a variety of languages between 1200 and 1923.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
Contains books (and other materials) published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.

Early Modern Texts in Philosophy
Provides texts from early modern philosophy translated for undergraduate readers.

Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Contains books (and other materials) primarily published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Presents primary works by prominent philosophers.

Text and Document Collections: Modern Period

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
French texts, most published in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, on diverse subjects, including philosophy.
A cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. Contains the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Provides texts published in a variety of languages between 1200 and 1923.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains books (and other materials) published during the 19th century; content organized into searchable collections such as "Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform."
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Presents primary works by prominent philosophers.

Secondary Sources: Interdisciplinary Handbook Series for Philosophy

Topical handbooks written for undergraduate learners, each accessible through its library catalog record linked below. All share a 2017 publication date from Gale/Macmillan.

Secondary Sources: Others for Philosophy

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
Includes philosophy titles.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture, all of which provide thematic essays.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Includes eight history of philosophy titles organized by period.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion This link opens in a new window
Presents the print handbooks digitally with added and updated content.
Offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Philosophy

All-Hours Research Help

On this Page

Text and Document Collections: Classical Period

Text and Document Collections: Medieval Period

Text and Document Collections: Early Modern Period

Text and Document Collections: Modern Period

Secondary Sources: Interdisciplinary Handbook Series for Philosophy

Secondary Sources: Others for Philosophy