Subject Librarian
Director, Klarchek Information Commons
IC-110
All-Hours Research Help
Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.
Databases for Philosophy
Databases provide information about journal articles as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles (as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, and similar materials) published in philosophy and related fields.
- PhilPapers This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles and books in philosophy; also hosts discussions of current topics in philosophy scholarship.
- Corpus Thomisticum This link opens in a new windowIncludes a bibliography of articles (and other materials) on Aquinas and his doctrine published between 1200 and today.
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from journals and magazines in every subject area.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchives the full text of prominent journal titles, including those focused on philosophy.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.
- Annee Philologique, L' (Brepols) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals (and other materials) on all aspects of classical studies; updated annually but with a two-year delay.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals (and other materials) covering the period 400-1500.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals (and books) covering the period 400-1700.
- LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowA search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection.
Databases Containing Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses written at Loyola University Chicago have records in the Dissertations and Theses database; use the universities/institutions index to limit a search accordingly.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides information about (and access to many) dissertations and theses written from 1861 forward.
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowIncludes records for dissertations and theses added to the catalogs of participating libraries.
Google Scholar
Set Loyola University Chicago as your library in Google Scholar and your results lists will include links to articles in our library's e-journal collections. Start at this settings page and search for Loyola in the text box. From the results list, choose Loyola University Chicago Libraries - Find it at Loyola and then click the blue save button near the bottom of the page.
Conduct a Google Scholar search and you will see the full text links on the right side of the results list.