Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health Sytems Management
This guide covers resources for researching topics related to health systems management including major stakeholders and issues of access, cost, delivery, utilization, quality, and outcomes.
CINAHL Plus with Full-text CINAHL Plus includes the fulltext for more than 560 journals. Indexing and abstracting for nursing & allied health journals. Also include PreCINAHL, a companion database providing current awareness of new journal articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Focuses on health from a consumer and patient perspective. The database contains over 150 full text general health, nutrition and professional health care publications, full text for over 1,000 health-related pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database has a range of resources, including over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
PubMed The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of bio-medical and life sciences journal literature.
PubMed: Simple Subject Search
Controlled vocabulary terms used by PubMed and Ovid/MEDLINE. Use these terms in combination with others to create a thorough search. Learn more about MeSH in this short video.
- Health Information Systems: A system for the collection and/or processing of data from various sources, and using the information for policy making and management of health services. It could be paper-based or electronic. Link to MeSH description.
- Health Planning: Planning for needed health and/or welfare services and facilities. Link to MeSH description.
- Health Policy: Decisions, usually developed by government policymakers, for determining present and future objectives pertaining to the health care system. Link to MeSH description.
- Health Status Disparities: Variation in rates of disease occurrence and disabilities between population groups defined by socioeconomic characteristics such as age, ethnicity, economic resources, or gender and populations identified geographically or similar measures. Link to MeSH description.
- Healthcare Disparities: Differences in access to or availability of medical facilities and services. Link to MeSH description .
- Medicare: Federal program, created by Public Law 89-97, Title XVIII-Health Insurance for the Aged, a 1965 amendment to the Social Security Act, that provides health insurance benefits to persons over the age of 65 and others eligible for Social Security benefits. It consists of two separate but coordinated programs: hospital insurance (MEDICARE PART A) and supplementary medical insurance (MEDICARE PART B). Link to MeSH description.
- Salaries and Fringe Benefits: The remuneration paid or benefits granted to an employee. Link toMeSH description.
- Economics [Subheading]: Used for the economic aspects of any subject, as well as for all aspects of financial management. It includes the raising or providing of funds. Use this subheading in conjunction with other terms to find articles that concern this aspect. Link to MeSH description.
- Organization and administration [Subheading]: Used for administrative structure and management. Use this subheading in conjunction with other terms to find articles that concern this aspect. Link to MeSH description.|
- Comparative Effectiveness Research: Access specialized search strategies to help inform investigations of comparative effectiveness.
Online Video Resources
Alexander Street Press Streaming Video Access to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Ethnographic Video Online Ethnographic Video Online is a multidisciplinary streaming video resource. It brings together thousands of video titles in a wide range of disciplines. With thousands and thousands of complete titles (not clips) and growing by more than 400 titles per month.
Kanopy Streaming Video Kanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
LGBT Studies in Video LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Nursing Education in Video Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
What will healthcare look like in 2020?