Research & Learning Librarian
LUC Libraries
25 E. Pearson #619
Chicago, IL 60611
aalvarado2@luc.edu
Basic Computer Skills
- Basic Computer Skills PageNeed to refresh or learn about Office 365 or Sakai? Check this page out.
Additional Resources
- Hoonuit (Formerly Known as Atomic Learning) An online, on demand, training site that offers over 50,000 tutorial videos on over 250 technology applications, including Microsoft and Adobe. Topics are subdivided into very small chunks, and presented in videos of one or two minutes, so learners can easily and quickly find the training they need on specific topics.
- Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Videos and audio covering a wide variety of subjects. Individual collections include Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
- EBSCO database tutorials EBSCO provides LUC libraries with access to Academic Search Complete, Alternative Press Index, America: History and Life, Anthropology Plus, ATLA Religion Index with ATLA Serials, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, CINAHL Plus with Full-text, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Research Complete, Educational Administration Abstracts, ERIC Via Ebsco, Index Islamicus, Reader's Guide Retrospective, Social Work Abstracts, Wilson OmniFile Full-Text Select, and Women's Studies International.
- OVID SP database tutorials OVID provides LUC libraries with access to PsycInfo, Medline, OldMedline, Books (selected by LUC), Full Text Journals (selected by LUC), Joanna Brigs Institute EBP, ACP Journal, the EBM Reviews databases, Biological Abstracts, ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Nursing, PsycCritiques, and OVID Table of Contents.
- Proquest database tutorials Proquest provides LUC Libraries with access to ABI/Inform, American Periodicals (1740-1940), Chicago Tribune (1985-current), Dissertations and Theses, ebrary, Environmental Abstracts, ERIC, GenderWatch, MLA International Bibliography, Civil War Era, Historical Newspapers (Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times), Newsstand, Social Services Abstract, Sociological Abstracts, Vogue Archive and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. This link is to the Proquest Training channel on Youtube.
Getting Started
Welcome to the SCPS Research Guide!
This guide will introduce you to resources that are available to you, if at any point you are not sure where to find information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat.
Library Services
- How do I get a book?
- How do I visit the library?
- How do I use Interlibrary loan?
- How do I access materials online?
Research Help
The library has 24/7 chat reference service. Ask a Librarian links are available from the library website, catalog, and selected databases.
You can search for ebooks in the library catalog. (That link will show you all the ebooks available, but you will have to change the search to be your topic).
Lewis Library
Lewis Library (Water Tower Campus): Main Entrance on the 6th floor, 8th floor is the quiet study floor, & the 9th floor has study rooms that can be reserved through the reservation system. Computers, quiet and group study areas, books, and electronic material for check-out
There are approximately 10 Group Study Rooms available for students to use. To reserve a room, you can use our online Group Study Reservation System. The Group workstations on the 6th floor have also been added to this reservation system. They are labeled, from north to south, as Group Workstations 1 through 4.
Needing a secure place to store books and other small personal items? Lockers are available for checkout at the Lewis Library Circulation Desk. The loan period for lockers is 7 days plus one renewal. Lockers are available to Loyola students, faculty, staff, and alumni on a first-come first served basis. For further information please contact Lewis Library Circulation Desk at 312-915-6622
Schedule an appointment online!
Check out "How to: Writing Center" for a short tutorial on setting up appointments online.
Preparing for your session:
- Schedule online using http://luc.mywconline.com to make an appointment with a tutor.
- Be on time for your appointment.
-
Come to the Writing Center with your paper assignment and with rough drafts, if you have them.
-
Ask questions during your session, and keep an open mind when your tutor makes suggestions.
-
Remember: The Writing Center is not a fix-it shop; we work with you to improve your writing.
Both the Lewis Library and information Commons Digital Media Labs featuring a wide array of robust workstations, multimedia applications and technical support for working with digital images, audio, and video.
The labs also offer a wide variety of equipment for check-out, including digital cameras, video cameras, iPads, and audio equipment.
See Digital Media Services for more information. Located on the 6th floor of the Lewis Library, Room 605.
Both the Lewis Library and Information Commons provides best effort to help with technical issues for WiFi:
Get Materials
Interlibrary Loan
Request materials such as books, articles, and dissertations that are not otherwise available in the Loyola University Libraries.
Course Reserves
Course Reserves are educational materials that have been set aside and made available for specific classes and have shorter borrowing periods and different renewal policies. See Course Reserves for more information.
Document Delivery
Request scanned copies of articles and book chapters from Loyola's print collections.
Distance Education
The ILL office will mail books from the Loyola University Libraries to students enrolled exclusively in distance education courses and to graduate students who reside outside of Chicagoland (in the U.S.).
Online Newspaper Subscriptions
Wall Street Journal: Please CLICK HERE to register for an account before attempting to access this resource The Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverage from 1984 to the current year.
New York Times Website : Loyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com, including archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access is available through ProQuest Newstream). First time users need to create an account from this link Create a New Account to gain access. Returning users can log in from the New York Times' website from this link. Users will have to "renew" their account once a year with their same login information.