Education Librarian
Liaison for the School of Education
Liaison for the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
25 E. Pearson #615
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6949 voice
312-915-6244 fax
truppman@luc.edu
Chat with Us!
Welcome to the Education and Curriculum Research Guide
This guide is an introduction to the print and electronic materials available to Education students in the teacher-training and graduate programs at Loyola. The print collection of education books (9th floor) and periodicals (6th and 8th floors) is housed in Lewis Library at the Water Tower Campus. The tabs to the left of the page, and described below, can help you find resources.
The Databases (Article Search) tab provides access to all the online databases and electronic resources related to education and curriculum.
The Book Search tab provides access to the online catalog and WorldCat, as well as e-books.
The Curriculum Resources tab contains links to various websites related to curriculum, including award winning book resources, etc.
The Web Resources tab contains links to various websites for all areas of education.
The Library Tutorials tab contains videos and tutorials about how to search in databases or use the library catalog.
Most Used Education Resources
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles and conference papers covering education research from early childhood to higher education for all educational specialties. Coverage: 1880 - present.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticle abstracts covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage: 1924 - present.
- ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on children's health and development, pedagogical theory and practice for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. Coverage: 1930 - present.
Web Research
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- Institute of Education SciencesAs the research arm of the U.S. Department of Education, IES provides rigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and shares this information broadly. By identifying what works, what doesn't, and why, they aim to improve educational outcomes for all students, particularly those at risk of failure.
- What Works ClearinghouseThe What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) was established in 2002 as an initiative of the Institute for Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. The WWC is administered by the National Center for Education Evaluation within IES. The WWC identifies studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, or policy (referred to as “interventions”), and disseminates summary information and reports on the WWC website. With over 700 publications available and more than 6,000 reviewed studies in the online searchable database, the WWC aims to inform researchers, educators, and policymakers as they work toward improving education for students.