History of Higher Education Resources
An Internet Hotlist on Higher Education

created by Ann Marie Ryan
updated and edited by Tracy Ruppman
Loyola University Chicago

Introduction | Primary Sources | Secondary Sources | Primary and Secondary Sources | Research and Writing in History

Introduction
The following websites offer institutional profiles, histories of higher education, primary sources related to higher education, and links to resources on the history of higher education.
 

The Internet Resources

• Higher Education Associations -
• Illinois Board of Higher Education - This site provides a listing of higher education institutions in Illinois and specifically in the city of Chicago and its metropolitan area.

Primary Sources

• 125th Anniversary of Johns Hopkins University -
• Brown v. Board of Education -
• Five College Archives - This is a digital archive for the Five Colleges - Amherst, Smith, Mount Holyoke, University of Massachusetts Amherst, and Hampshire. The collection emphasizes the history of women's education at these institutions.
• Junior College History Sources, 1900-1940 -
• National Student Affairs Archive - Hosted by Bowling Green State University
• Our Documents - This site has 100 significant documents in U.S. history, including the Northwest Ordinance of 1787.
• Oyez: US Supreme Court Cases -
• Student Affairs History Project -
• The Morrill Act of 1862 - Full text of the Morrill Act, hosted by the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center.

Secondary Sources

• A Brief History of Affirmative Action in California - This site gives a good overview of the laws, regulations and policies affecting affirmative action in the state of California.
• American Association of University Professors -
• American Indian Higher Education Consortium -
• Important Events in Higher Education - James Forest & Kevin Kinser. 2002. Higher Education in the United States: An Encyclopedia. New York: ABC-CLIO Publishers.

Primary and Secondary Sources

• Association for the Study of Higher Education - This source supports the ASHE Reader Series on the history of higher education. The Reader Series is a considerable collection of primary sources related to American higher education generally with specific documents organized chronologically. It also offers some general overviews of the history of higher education in the United States.
• American Association of Community Colleges - This site offers historical background of community colleges in the U.S.
• History and Archival Resources in Higher Education -
• History of Education: Selected Moments of the 20th Century - Daniel Schugurensky, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto
• Penn State: An Illustrated History -
• The History of the California Master Plan for Higher Education - a project of the Center for Studies in Higher Education
• Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities - Morrill Act Sesquicentennial, 1862-2012

Research and Writing in History

• Developing an Argument -
• Reading, Writing and Research for History - Patrick Rael, Bowdoin College