Poetry Month Celebration
April is National Poetry Month! First celebrated in 1996, the Academy of American Poets organized the holiday to increase awareness and appreciation of poetry in the United States.
- Sign up for Poem-a-Day and enjoy a free daily poem in your inbox.
- Follow the thousands of celebrations taking place on social media with the official hashtag #NationalPoetryMonth and follow the Academy of American Poets on Twitter and Instagram @POETSorg
- Share a #PocketPoem on Poem in Your Pocket Day on April 29
Almanac by
Almanac is a collection of lyrical and narrative poems that celebrate, and mourn the passing of, the world of the small family farm. But while the poems are all involved in some way with the rural Midwest, particularly with the people and land of the northwestern Illinois dairy farm where Austin Smith was born and raised, they are anything but merely regional. As the poems reflect on farm life, they open out to speak about childhood and death, the loss of tradition, the destruction of the natural world, and the severing of connections between people and the land.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781400848034Publication Date: 2013-09-22
Faster Than Light by
Conjuring numerous voices and characters across oceans and centuries, Faster Than Light explores widely disparate experiences through the lens of traditional poetic forms. This volume contains a selection of Marilyn Nelson's new and uncollected poems as well as work from each of her lyric histories of eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century African American individuals and communities.Poems include the stories of historical figures like Emmett Till, the fourteen-year-old boy lynched in 1955, and the inhabitants of Seneca Village, an African American community razed in 1857.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0807147354Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Hope Mirrlees: Collected Poems by
Spanning several decades of her life, multiple continents, and significant events, this collection of Hope Mirrlees's poetry includes previously unpublished work and the modernist writer's later poems and essays, written circa 1920. Also included is the full text of Paris: A Poem?a daylong, psycho-geographical flânerie through the streets and metro tunnels of post?World War I Paris. Groundbreaking and illuminating, this volume is a testament to Mirrlees's contribution to 20th-century poetry.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1847773508Publication Date: 2011-10-01
The Light That Puts an End to Dreams by
An autobiography told in poems, this selection of work spans more than 40 years, beginning with the avant-garde arts movement and political activism of the 1960s. A mixture of intense political poems, intimate love poems, and provocative reflections, it traces the journey of a woman intimately involved with many significant events of the 20th century-the antiwar, feminist, and gay liberation movements, including time spent in Chile, Nicaragua, Cuba, and Barcelona
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1609402243Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Looking Out, Looking In by
An anthology of many poems.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1611925193Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Life Doesn't Frighten Me by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3551 .N464 L54 1993ISBN: 1556702884Publication Date: 1993-02-06
My Letter to the World and Other Poems by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS1541 .A6 2008ISBN: 9781554531035Publication Date: 2008-09-01
My People by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3515 .U274 M9 20092010 Illustrator Award Winner
Soul Talk: Urban Youth Poetry by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS591 .T45 S68 2007ISBN: 9780971299689Publication Date: 2008-02-01
When Thunder Comes by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3562.E9465 W38 2011ISBN: 9781452101194Publication Date: 2012-12-26
TED Talks: Poetry
The Best American Poetry Blog
Loading ...
The Poetry Project
Loading ...