Citation Styles
Updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th edition)
Most commonly used in:
- Literature
- Languages
- Fine arts
- Cultural studies
Updated to reflect the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition, 2nd printing)
Most commonly used in:
- Social sciences (including psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, etc.)
- Business
- Nursing
- Social Work
- Education
Chicago/Turabian Author-Date Style Quick Guide
Chicago/Turabian Notes & Bibliography Style Quick Guide
Updated to reflect The Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition) and A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian) (9th edition)
Most commonly used in:
- Theology
- History
- Fine arts
- Computing science
- Business
- Philosophy
- Anthropology
- Writing Center: Citations & StyleLearning how to cite your papers in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian style can help prevent plagiarism, teach you useful skills for successfully presenting research projects in the workplace, and perhaps one day enable you to publish articles and books of your own. Consult the following links to create a flawless Works Cited page that will put the perfect finish to your paper.
Citation Managers
The Library has features RefWorks because users have found it easy to use & subscribes to it. But not everyone likes RefWorks –tastes and needs vary. Here is a list of informational/instructional pages on citation managers you can use.
- RefWorks RefWorks is a tool you can use to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. Read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections. Using tools like "drag and drop" capability, "smart document recognition" and "Save To", upload documents, bibliographic metadata, and capture research from websites into your own personal research database which is saved on the web. Also use RefWorks to create simple bibliographies and papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes.
- Easybib Add-in for Microsoft 365 Note that this is a add-in for Word and only functions inside of Word. The application will place an icon in Word, visible when you click on the References tab. You can search for sources and import a citation directly into your Word document. Supported styles are MLA7 and 8, APA, and Chicago. You can also find this add-in at the EasyBib site itself.
- EndNote Basic Provided by Clarivate Analytics and Web of Science. The free version provides 2GB of free online storage and 50,000 maximum records. EbscoHOST databases (including QuickSearch) provide the ability to directly export your articles to EndNote.
- Mendeley Owned by Elsevier and there is a free basic version available, with 2GB storage. The basic version allows you to create and own one private account. If you create a private group for sharing work, a free account is limited to three members. The networking capability allows you to collaborate by sharing documents with others in your group.
- Zotero Zotero is a free reference management tool (software) that works on Windows, Apple, and Linux.