Research Guides: Modern Languages: Primary Sources

What is a Primary Source?

"Qu'est-ce qu'une source primaire?

Une source primaire est un document consignant une observation d'un événement. En voici quelques exemples :

Récits personnels, journaux intimes, mémoires, autobiographies, correspondances
Discours (soit le texte ou l'enregistrement)
Photographies ou cartes
Manuscrits, tels que: publications officielles, articles de journaux, enregistrement audio ou vidéos d'entrevues
Les articles de périodiques (normalement publiés dans des journaux) peuvent également constituer des sources primaires à condition que l'auteur ait assisté à l'événement en question.

Pourquoi consulter une source primaire?

Les sources primaires fournissent une perspective directe d'un évènement historique. Elles peuvent cependant être difficiles à déchiffrer lorsqu'on ne connaît pas le contexte dans lequel elles ont été produites. Une connaissance préalable de la période historique et des gens entourant leur création vous sera sans doute très utile."

https://uottawa.libguides.com/c.php?g=265200&p=1772060

Primary Source Collections

Gallica
Digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Almost all "classic" works of French literature are represented.
Archives de France
Provides direct or indirect access to a vast number of archival materials in national, regional, or municipal archives throughout France and overseas departments and territories. Resources are browsable by geographic region or material type and include parish registers, marriage records, photographs, urban planning documents, maps, etc.

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Full-text French-language resources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Coverage: 12th – 20th century.
A cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. Contains the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.

Art & Images

Gallica - Images
Découvrez ici, classée par supports et par thèmes, l'image sous toutes ses formes dans Gallica: Modes et costumes, Dessins d'architectes, Dessin de presse, Affiches et affichistes, photographes et photographie, Galerie de portraits d'artistes de la scene, La photographie de spectacle, L'histoire de France par l'image, Paris, La nature, Sports et sportifs; et L'Opera

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of fine art from around the world. All images can be freely used for educational and noncommercial scholarly purposes.

Special Topics

Francophone Slavery
The purpose of this website is to assemble resources related to slavery in the Francophone world from the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Special attention is given to women writers whose antislavery writings in France are often overlooked and undervalued. It provides primary and secondary materials and a list of annotated related sites.

Gallica

SEARCHING TIPS

Gallica - Advanced Search
Not sure what you're looking for? Use the Advanced Search and filter by date of publication, type of document, theme, language and more.

Web série "Sciences pour tous" (1850-1900)

Web Série "Sciences pour tous" (1850-1900)
De la médecine à la chimie en passant par l'hygiène et l'aéronautique : toute l'histoire de la science populaire dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Modern Languages

Primary Sources through Loyola

Archival Francophone Newspapers

Specific Archival Newspapers Available through Gallica