Research Guides: Mathematics and Statistics: Databases

Most Used Math Databases

ICPSR Data Access
Archive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business.
IEEE Xplore
Articles, ebooks, and conference preceedings on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields
MathSciNet
A searchable database providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Safari Tech Books Online
Ebooks on business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware/software development, system administration, and web/mobile design.
Springer Link
A collection of full-text math and science journals.
SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
SIAM books are a source of knowledge for the world’s applied mathematics and computational science communities.

Most Used Statistics Databases

Statista
Statistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Data sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.
Social Explorer
Digitized maps and census data related to demographic information in the U.S. Coverage: 1790 - 2000. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Note:

These are resources on the subject of statistics. If you are looking for statistics on a specific topic, check out the Subject-Specific Statistics page or the Research Guide for your subject area.

General STEM Databases

These databases can get you started with a broad range of STEM research.

Getting Started

Resources for topic development and background research

Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Oxford Reference Online
Multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles.
SAGE Research Methods
Provides material to guide all types of users through every step of the research process.
Teaching Notes are not available for trials

Best Bets

Robust STEM databases for research projects and papers

Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.
Scopus
Scientific journals, books and conference proceedings on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations.
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.

Additional Databases

Annual Reviews
Full-text reviews of primary research covering biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
ArticleFirst
Journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS)
Primary sources on the history of science. Coverage: 1830 to1970
Cochrane
Health Sciences database containing mostly full-text systematic reviews and controlled trial data, as well as many citations.
Journals@Ovid Full-text
Full-text articles from scientific, technical, and medical journals. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Springer Link
A collection of full-text math and science journals.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Mathematics and Statistics

Most Used Math Databases

Most Used Statistics Databases

General STEM Databases