Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Martin Luther King Jr by Combining the latest insights from KIng biographies and movement histories, this book provides an up-to-date critical analysis of the relationship between King and the wider civil rights movement. Delivering a fresh perspective on the relationship between 'the man and the movement', Kirk argues that it is the interactionbetween national and local movement concerns that is essential to understanding King's leadership and black activism in the 1950s and 1960s. Kirk examines King's strengths and his limitations, and weighs the role that king played in then movement alongside the contribution
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
30-Day Journey with Martin Luther King Jr. by Through brief daily readings and reflections, the 30-Day Journey series invites readers to be inspired and transformed. Martin Luther King Jr. led a country from division, racism, and hate toward unity and equality. Whether you are familiar with MLK's writings or are encountering them for the first time, this journey provides the perfect way to engage the thought of this hero of the civil rights movement.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Behind the Public Veil by In this groundbreaking volume, the noted King scholar Lewis V. Baldwin reveals what Martin Luther King, Jr. was really like, focusing primarily on the man himself rather than the "great public figure." Adding much-needed biographical background to the discussion, Baldwin treats King in terms of his fundamental and vivid humanness, giving special attention to those personal qualities that endeared him to the many common, ordinary people he encountered daily. Even more, this book provides a lens through which King's social and cultural context can be better understood.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Misremembering Dr. King by We all know the name. Martin Luther King Jr, the great American civil rights leader. But most people today know relatively little about King, the campaigner against militarism, materialism, and racism-what he called the ""giant triplets."" Jennifer J. Yanco takes steps to redress this imbalance. ""My objective is to highlight the important aspects of Dr. King's work which have all but disappeared from popular memory, so that more of us can 'really see King.'"" After briefly telling the familiar story of King's civil rights campaigns and accomplishments, she considers the lesser-known concer.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Curriculum Collection
Malcolm X by
Call Number: BP223 .Z8 L5745 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-14
Strange Fruit by
Call Number: E185.96 .G54 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
March (Book 1-3) by
Call Number: E840.8.L43 A3 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Nat Turner by
Call Number: F232.S7 B345 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Call Number: PS3552.U827 K51 2017 & Online Book
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Black Panther by
Call Number: PN6728.B523 C63 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-24
Hip Hop Family Tree by
Call Number: ML3531 .P57 2013
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
The Hip Hop Family Tree is an encyclopedic comics history of the formative years of hip hop capturing the vivid personalities and magnetic performances of old-school pioneers and early stars.
Call Number: PN6728.D87 J66 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-20
Call Number: PN6737.J67 N56 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-06
New Kid by New Kid tells the story of Jordan, a twelve-year-old boy from New York City who's enrolled in a private school where he is one of only a few students of color. This is even more crushing for Jordan, as he secretly dreams to go to an art school. Jerry Craft's New Kid has become the first graphic novel to ever win the Newbery Medal at the 2020 Youth Media Awards in Philadelphia for being the "most distinguished contribution to American Literature for children." While other graphic novels have been considered for the medal in the past, New Kid had enough of an impact on young readers to clinch the esteemed title.
Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.7.C74 New 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Check out the African American Literature Book Club, the AALBC is a widely recognized source of author profiles, book and film reviews, book recommendations, event information, discussion forums, writer resources, interviews, articles, videos, and more.
MLK Day & Black History Month
Learn about the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. through the library’s collection, there are children’s books in our curriculum collection, and we are displaying online books in this library research guide.
Black History Month starts in February but this guide is also highlighting titles promoted for the African American Month Read-In, the nation’s first and oldest event dedicated to diversity in literature established in 1990 by the Black Caucus of the National Council of Teachers of English to make literacy a significant part of Black History Month.
Here are some books that you can read!
Call Number: E185.97.S53 A3 2001 & Online
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Gospel Choirs by
Call Number: PS 3552 .E497 G67 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-30
This Mournable Body by "Anxious about her prospects after leaving a stagnant job, Tambudzai finds herself living in a run-down youth hostel in downtown Harare. For reasons that include her grim financial prospects and her age, she moves to a widow's boarding house and eventually finds work as a biology teacher. But at every turn in her attempt to make a life for herself, she is faced with a fresh humiliation, until the painful contrast between the future she imagined and her daily reality ultimately drives her to a breaking point. In This Mournable Body, Tsitsi Dangarembga returns to the protagonist of her acclaimed first novel, Nervous Conditions, to examine how the hope and potential of a young girl and a fledgling nation can sour over time and become a bitter and floundering struggle for survival. As a last resort, Tambudzai takes an ecotourism job that forces her to return to her parents' impoverished homestead. It is this homecoming, in Dangarembga's tense and psychologically charged novel, that culminates in an act of betrayal, revealing just how toxic the combination of colonialism and capitalism can be."--Amazon.com.
Call Number: PR9390.9.D36 T45 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Becoming by In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America, she helped create the most welcoming and inclusive White House in history. With unerring honesty and lively wit, she describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private. A deeply personal reckoning of a woman of soul and substance who has steadily defied expectations.
Call Number: E909.O24 A3 2018 & Online
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
The Wedding Date by "A groomsman and his last-minute guest are about to discover if a fake date can go the distance in a fun and flirty debut novel. Agreeing to go to a wedding with a guy she gets stuck with in an elevator is something Alexa Monroe wouldn't normally do. But there's something about Drew Nichols that's too hard to resist. On the eve of his ex's wedding festivities, Drew is minus a plus one. Until a power outage strands him with the perfect candidate for a fake girlfriend. From the best man's toast to the bouquet toss, Alexa and Drew have more fun than they ever thought possible. But before they know it, Drew has to fly back to Los Angeles and his job as a pediatric surgeon, and Alexa heads home to Berkeley, where she's the mayor's chief of staff. Too bad they can't stop thinking about the other. They're just two high-powered professionals on a collision course toward the long distance dating disaster of the century--or closing the gap between what they think they need and what they truly want."--
Call Number: PS3607.U48553 W43 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
I Can't Date Jesus by "In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can't Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I'm Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul-searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn't been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being black in America is...well, have you watched the news? With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today's boldest writers on social issues, I Can't Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux's impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today's America.
Call Number: E185.97.A69 A3 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Visible Man by
Call Number: PS3554.U43 Z75 2014 & Online
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Freshwater by An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self. It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born "with one foot on the other side." Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of experiencing the world, one that illuminates how we all construct our identities. Ada begins her life in the south of Nigeria as a troubled baby and a source of deep concern to her family.
Call Number: PR9387.9.E42 F74 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Call Number: PS3552 .U827 F47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-04
Call Number: PS3563 .O8749 B4 1987
Publication Date: 1987-08-12
The National African American Read-In
Hosted by the Black Caucus of NCTE and NCTE
Celebrate Black History Month by taking part in the National African American Read-In. Sponsored by the Black Caucus of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) and NCTE, and endorsed by the International Literacy Association, the goal is to document readers making the celebration of African American literacy a traditional part of Black History Month activities.
Popular Reading Collection - 6th Floor of Lewis Library
Red at the Bone by "Two families from different social classes are joined together by an unexpected pregnancy and the child that it produces. As the book opens in 2001, it is the evening of sixteen-year-old Melody's coming of age ceremony in her grandparents' Brooklyn brownstone. Watched lovingly by her relatives and friends, making her entrance to the music of Prince, she wears a special custom-made dress. But the event is not without poignancy. Sixteen years earlier, that very dress was measured and sewn for a different wearer: Melody's mother, for her own ceremony -- a celebration that ultimately never took place"--Adapted from jacket.
Call Number: PS3573.O64524 R43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
No One Is Coming to Save Us by "JJ Ferguson has returned home to Pinewood, North Carolina, to build his dream house and to pursue his high school sweetheart, Ava. But as he reenters his former world, where factories are in decline and the legacy of Jim Crow is still felt, he's startled to find that the people he once knew and loved have changed just as much as he has. Ava is now married and desperate for a baby, though she can't seem to carry one to term. Her husband, Henry, has grown distant, frustrated by the demise of the furniture industry, which has outsourced to China and stripped the area of jobs. Ava's mother, Sylvia, caters to and meddles with the lives of those around her, trying to fill the void left by her absent son. And Don, Sylvia's unworthy but charming husband, just won't stop hanging around. JJ's return—and his plans to build a huge mansion overlooking Pinewood and woo Ava—not only unsettles their family, but stirs up the entire town."--Jacket flap.
Call Number: PS3623.A887 N6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
The Mother of Black Hollywood by This 'Mega Diva' and costar of the hit sitcom black-ish bares her soul in this touching and poignant--and at times side-splittingly hilarious--memoir of a Midwestern girl with a dream, whose journey took her from poverty to the big screen, and along the way earned her many accolades.
Call Number: PN2287.L434 A3 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-14
A Sick Life by As the lead singer of Grammy-winning supergroup TLC, Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins has seen phenomenal fame, success, and critical acclaim. But backstage, she has lived a dual life. In addition to the balancing act of juggling an all-consuming music career and her family, Tionne has struggled since she was a young girl with sickle-cell disease, a debilitating and incurable condition that can render her unable to perform, walk, or even breathe.
Call Number: ML420.W265 A3 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
I Almost Forgot about You by Dr. Georgia Young's wonderful life--great friends, family, and successful career--aren't enough to keep her from feeling stuck and restless. When she decides to make some major changes in her life, quitting her job as an optometrist, and moving house, she finds herself on a wild journey that may or may not include a second chance at love.
Call Number: PS3563.C3868 I53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Hidden Figures by "Before John Glenn orbited the earth or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as "human computers" used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would launch rockets, and astronauts, into space. Among these problem-solvers were a group of exceptionally talented African American women, some of the brightest minds of their generation. Originally relegated to teaching math in the South's segregated public schools, they were called into service during the labor shortages of World War II, when America's aeronautics industry was in dire need of anyone who had the right stuff. Suddenly, these overlooked math whizzes had a shot at jobs worthy of their skills, and they answered Uncle Sam's call, moving to Hampton, Virginia, and the fascinating, high-energy world of the Langley Memorial Aeronautical Laboratory. Even as Virginia's Jim Crow laws required them to be segregated from their white counterparts, the women of Langley's all-black "West Computing" group helped America achieve one of the things it desired most: a decisive victory over the Soviet Union in the Cold War, and complete domination of the heavens." -- Publisher's description
Call Number: QA27.5 .L44 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Sing, Unburied, Sing by A searing and profound Southern odyssey by National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward. In Jesmyn Ward's first novel since her National Book Award-winning Salvage the Bones, this singular American writer brings the archetypal road novel into rural twenty-first-century America. Drawing on Morrison and Faulkner, The Odyssey and the Old Testament, Ward gives us an epochal story, a journey through Mississippi's past and present that is both an intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle. Ward is a major American writer, multiply awarded and universally lauded, and in Sing, Unburied, Sing she is at the height of her powers. Jojo and his toddler sister, Kayla, live with their grandparents, Mam and Pop, and the occasional presence of their drug-addicted mother, Leonie, on a farm on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi. Leonie is simultaneously tormented and comforted by visions of her dead brother, which only come to her when she's high; Mam is dying of cancer; and quiet, steady Pop tries to run the household and teach Jojo how to be a man. When the white father of Leonie's children is released from prison, she packs her kids and a friend into her car and sets out across the state for Parchman farm, the Mississippi State Penitentiary, on a journey rife with danger and promise. Sing, Unburied, Sing grapples with the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power, and limitations, of the bonds of family. Rich with Ward's distinctive, musical language, Sing, Unburied, Sing is a majestic new work and an essential contribution to American literature"--
Living with his grandparents and sister on a Gulf Coast farm, Jojo navigates the challenges of his mother's addictions and his grandmother's cancer before the release of his father from prison prompts a road trip of danger and hope.
Call Number: PS3623.A7323 S56 2017
Publication Date: 2018-05-08
My Life, My Love, My Legacy by "The life story of Coretta Scott King--wife of Martin Luther King Jr., founder of the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change, and singular twentieth-century American civil rights activist--as told fully for the first time, toward the end of her life, to one of her closest friends Born in 1927 to daringly enterprising black parents in the Deep South, Coretta Scott had always felt called to a special purpose. One of the first black scholarship students recruited to Antioch College, a committed pacifist, and a civil rights activist, she was an avowed feminist--a graduate student determined to pursue her own career--when she met Martin Luther King Jr., a Baptist minister insistent that his wife stay home with the children. But in love and devoted to shared Christian beliefs and racial justice goals, she married King, and events promptly thrust her into a maelstrom of history throughout which she was a strategic partner, a standard bearer, a marcher, a negotiator, and a crucial fundraiser in support of world-changing achievements. As a widow and single mother of four, while butting heads with the all-male African American leadership of the times, she championed gay rights and AIDS awareness, founded the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change, lobbied for fifteen years to help pass a bill establishing the US national holiday in honor of her slain husband, and was a powerful international presence, serving as a UN ambassador and playing a key role in Nelson Mandela's election. Coretta's is a love story, a family saga, and the memoir of an independent-minded black woman in twentieth-century America, a brave leader who stood committed, proud, forgiving, nonviolent, and hopeful in the face of terrorism and violent hatred every single day of her life."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: E185.97.K47 A3 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
The Ballad of Black Tom by "People move to New York looking for magic and nothing will convince them it isn't there. Charles Thomas Tester hustles to put food on the table, keep the roof over his father's head, from Harlem to Flushing Meadows to Red Hook. He knows what magic a suit can cast, the invisibility a guitar case can provide, and the curse written on his skin that attracts the eye of wealthy white folks and their cops. But when he delivers an occult tome to a reclusive sorceress in the heart of Queens, Tom opens a door to a deeper realm of magic, and earns the attention of things best left sleeping. A storm that might swallow the world is building in Brooklyn. Will Black Tom live to see it break?"
Call Number: PS3562.A8458 B35 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
When They Call You a Terrorist by In 2013, when Trayvon Martin's killer went free, Patrisse's outrage led her to co-found Black Lives Matter with Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi. Condemned as terrorists and as a threat to America, these loving women founded a hashtag that birthed the movement to demand accountability from the authorities who continually turn a blind eye to the injustices inflicted upon people of Black and Brown skin. Championing human rights in the face of violent racism, Patrisse is a survivor. She transformed her personal pain into political power, giving voice to a people suffering inequality and a movement fueled by her strength and love, to tell the country--and the world--that Black Lives Matter. [This book] is Patrisse Khan-Cullors and Asha Bandele's reflection on humanity. It is an empowering account of survival, strength and resilience and a call to action to change the culture that declares innocent Black life expendable.
Call Number: E185.97.K43 A3 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Hunger by Roxane Gay addresses the experience of living in a body that she calls 'wildly undisciplined.' She casts an insightful and critical eye over her childhood, teens, and twenties -- including the devastating act of violence that was a turning point at age 12 -- and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life. With candor, vulnerability, and authority, Roxane explores what it means to be overweight in a time when the bigger you are, the less you are seen.
Call Number: BF697.5.B63 G39 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Old in Art School by Following her retirement from Princeton University, celebrated historian Dr. Nell Irvin Painter surprised everyone in her life by returning to school--in her sixties--to earn a BFA and MFA in painting. In Old in Art School, she travels from her beloved Newark to the prestigious Rhode Island School of Design; finds meaning in the artists she loves, even as she comes to understand how they may be undervalued; and struggles with the unstable balance between the pursuit of art and the inevitable, sometimes painful demands of a life fully lived. How are women and artists seen and judged by their age, looks, and race? What does it mean when someone says, "You will never be an artist"? Who defines what "An Artist" is and all that goes with such an identity?
Call Number: N6537.P23 A2 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Rest in Power by Five years after his tragic death, Trayvon Martin's name is still evoked every day. He has become a symbol of social justice activism, as has his hauntingly familiar image: the photo of a child still in the process of becoming a young man, wearing a hoodie and gazing silently at the camera. But who was Trayvon Martin, before he became, in death, an icon? And how did one black child's death on a dark, rainy street in a small Florida town become the match that lit a civil rights crusade? Rest in Power, told through the compelling alternating narratives of Sybrina Fulton and Tracy Martin, answers, for the first time, those questions from the most intimate of sources. It's the story of the beautiful and complex child they lost, the cruel unresponsiveness of the police and the hostility of the legal system, and the inspiring journey they took from grief and pain to power, and from tragedy and senselessness to meaning.
Call Number: E185.97.M372 F85 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Barack Obama by
Call Number: E901.1 .O23 G75 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-26
Tar Beach by
Call Number: PZ7 .R4726 Tar 1991
Publication Date: 1991-01-16
Who Am I Without Him? by Guys and girls get together, get played, and get real. Who Am I Without Him? is a Booklist Top 10 Romance Novel for Teens and is "breaking new and necessary ground" in 12 short stories about guys and girls falling in and out of love and relationships, testing out ways to communicate with one another, respect each other - and respect themselves. This is a complex, often humorous, and always on-point exploration of today's teens determined to find love and self-worth...any way they know how.
Call Number: PS3556 .L287 W46 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Revolution by It's 1964 in Greenwood, Mississippi, and Sunny's town is being invaded by people from up north who are coming to help people register to vote. Her personal life isn't much better, as a new stepmother, brother, and sister are crowding into her life, giving her little room to breathe.
Call Number: PZ7.W6474 Re 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Chasing Space Young Readers' Edition by Leland Melvin is the only person in human history to catch a pass in the National Football League and in space. Though his path to the heavens was riddled with setbacks and injury, Leland persevered to reach the stars.
Call Number: TL789.85.M46 A3 2017b
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
Call Number: F548.9 .N4 N47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The following list contains selected works recommended by Black Caucus members. There are many other books by African Americans which we encourage you to read; this is a starter list and not intended to be all inclusive of other excellent works by African Americans. Join in and continue to enrich your lives after February by reading books by African Americans.