Most Used Social Work Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
- Psychiatry Online PsychiatryOnline is web-based portal that features DSM-5, The American Journal of Psychiatry, other journals, textbooks, APA practice guidelines, self assessment tools, clinical and research news as well as medication information handout
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from journals covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1894 - present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Indexes literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1800s - present.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Comprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
- Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window Recent evidence-based information, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and skill competency checklists covering social work. Also includes clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules, and patient education information. Coverage: 1996 - present.
Reference Sources
- Social work speaks : NASW policy statements. Use https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html to request a chapter scan. Only available in print.
- The Social Work Podcast The Social Work Podcast provides information on all things social work, including direct practice (both clinical and community organizing), research, policy, education... and everything in between. Join your host, Jonathan Singer, Ph.D., LCSW, as he explores topics near and dear to every social worker's heart. The purpose of the podcast is to present useful information in a user-friendly format. Although the intended audience is social workers, the information will be useful to anyone in a helping profession (including psychology, nursing, psychiatry, counseling, and education). The general public might also find these podcasts useful as a way of learning what social workers understand to be important. If you have ideas for future podcasts, please send an email to jonathan dot b dot singer at gmail dot com.
- Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference sources related to history, law, and religious studies.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
- Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries on a variety of topics. Also includes tutorials on research basics.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Comprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
- ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. This encyclopedia makes counseling come alive through its user-friendly writing style;
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice Contains topics, concepts, and ideas which shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
- Encyclopedia of American activism, 1960 to the present The turbulence of the 1960s and 1970s spawned a spectrum of activist movements. In spirit and action, events ranged from: gentle to violent; from Tree People to Bloody Sunday; from Community Mental Health to Black Power. This rapid stream of social and political change defined the second half of the 20th century, yet had roots in the first half. The baby boom generation launched many movements. Unlike their Depression/WWII parents, the boomers, a large cohort of unattached, young adults, had no looming familial and social responsibilities. They had the freedom and resources for the consuming task of changing the world.
- Encyclopedia of Human Relationships The Encyclopedia of Human Relationships offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations—friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates, and so forth. Although each of these connections is unique in some respect, they share a common core of principles and processes. These three volumes provide a state-of-the-art review of the extensive theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.
- Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy This resource covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches that laid the foundation for the various contemporary treatment approaches.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism This reference tool examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, political & social leaders and notorious racists.
- Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence "This encyclopedia focuses on rape in contemporary society. Different categories of rape and sexual assault are examined both in the United States and globally. Though underreported, the data that are available clearly indicate that sexual violence is a global problem that affects not only women, but men and children, too. Perhaps some minds will be informed, by reading the twenty entries in this volume"-- Provided by publisher.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups The resource covers all aspects of social work with groups: including its history, values, major models, approaches and methods, education, research, journals, phases of development, working with specific populations and ages, plus many more. Each article, written by well-known and expert authors, includes references which can be a major resource for future exploration in the particular subject area.
- Encyclopedia of counseling : master review and tutorial for the national counselor examination, state counseling exams, and the counselor preparation comprehensive examination With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling, Fourth Edition, is still the only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE, and other counseling exams. Every chapter has new and updated material and is still written in Dr. Rosenthal's lively, user-friendly style counselors know and love. The book’s new and improved coverage incorporates a range of vital topics, including social media, group work in career counseling, private practice and nonprofit work, addictions, neurocounseling, research trends, the DSM-5, the new ACA and NBCC codes of ethics, and much, much more.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
- Historical Dictionary of Human Rights 2014 If the sheer number of references to human rights in media headlines or government statements is of any guidance, human rights concerns now appear virtually at the center of the framework of the norms, principles, and obligations that shape relations within the international community both among and within states. That political journey began, perhaps arbitrarily, on 10 December, 1948, when the United Nations General Assembly (UN-GA) embraced and proclaimed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), a ringing endorsement and advocacy of the notion that regardless of race, religion or nationality, all men and women, everywhere in the world are entitled to the human rights and fundamental freedoms simply because they are human. The Historical Dictionary of Human Rights covers the history of the Human Rights movement through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 1000 cross-referenced entries on terminology, conventions, treaties, intergovernmental organizations in the United Nations family or regional bodies, and the constantly expanding universe of non-governmental organizations, as well as some of the pioneers and defenders. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Human Rights movement.
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Lewis Ref HQ9 .E52 2003 (Print) Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages.
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender "The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology & Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology--topics that resonate across disciplines and inform our everyday lives. This Encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood as well as throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more. With articles written by experts across a variety of disciplines, this encyclopedia brings insights on the psychology of gender, through the lens of developmental science, social science, clinical and counseling psychology, sociology, and more. This encyclopedia provides librarians, students, and professionals with ready access to up-to-date information that informs some of today's key contemporary issues and debates."--Provided by publisher.
- Routledge handbook of green social work Green social work espouses a holistic approach to all peoples and other living things – plants and animals, and the physical ecosystem; emphasises the relational nature of all its constituent parts; and redefines the duty to care for and about others as one that includes the duty to care for and about planet earth.
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society This encyclopedia presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present.
- DSM Legacy Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection that includes previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. Includes: DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
- WHO International Classification of Diseases The International Classification of Diseases is the standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management, and clinical purposes. This includes the analysis of the general health situation of population groups. It is used to monitor the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems, providing a picture of the general health situation of countries and populations.
- Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Illinois procedure and form for Illinois liscensure.
- Social work ASWB masters exam guide : a comprehensive study guide for success A full practice test with 170 questions that mirrors the actual ASWB® Masters Exam in length, structure, and content, with detailed explanations of the correct answers. Identifies the Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities statements (KSAs) for each question so test-takers can easily locate relevant source materials for further stud
- Social work ASWB bachelors exam guide: a comprehensive study guide for success Apgar, D. (2017). Social work ASWB bachelors exam guide: a comprehensive study guide for success, second edition. In Social work ASWB bachelors exam guide (2nd ed.). Springer Publishing Company.
- Meltwater This link opens in a new window
Social media monitoring and engagement software. Search by keyword through Tweets, Reddit, Instagram and Facebook posts to create instant dashboards and follow trending issues over time. Limited to 4 concurrent users. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- Pew Research Center The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.
- Roper Center The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
- World Public Opinion WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. As the world becomes increasingly integrated, problems have become increasingly global, pointing to a greater need for understanding between nations and for elucidating global norms. With the growth of democracy in the world, public opinion has come to play a greater role in the foreign policy process. WorldPublicOpinion.org seeks to reveal the values and views of publics in specific nations around the world as well as global patterns of world public opinion. WorldPublicOpinion.org is managed by the Program for Public Consultation.
Databases of Interest to Social Work
These databases may be helpful for areas of social work research beyond what the Social Work databases can give you. For example, use the education databases for articles on early childhood development, gangs in schools, school social work and similar topics. Use the criminal justice databases for inmate counseling, substance abuse articles and effects of family member imprisonment. Many other topics as well.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and some full-text on the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1960 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections related to Catholicism, religion, and theology. Includes the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Coverage: 1949 - present.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Full-text book reviews and article abstracts on the topic of child development and adolescent studies, related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, theses, and dissertations.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window Full-text articles covering criminal law, corrections, policing, forensics, and other essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window Article abstracts covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage: 1924 - present.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text articles and conference papers covering education research from early childhood to higher education for all educational specialties. Coverage: 1880 - present.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index with some full-text and abstracts covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Medline This link opens in a new window Index of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, and multimedia.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstract Database This link opens in a new window Collection of resources offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Coverage: 1901 - present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
- Special Ed Connection This link opens in a new window Provides access to statues and regulations related to education law and childhood disability law, legal and policy updates and news, advocacy information, IDEA and Section 504. Coverage: 2006 - present.
- DSM Legacy Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text collection that includes previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. Includes: DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
- Cite Black Authors We seek to enhance recognition and citation of black academic voices. Our approach requires a shift from traditional citation practices that are passive and white-centric to active citation practices that both quantify and equilibrate racial representation.
Business Resources
Company Profiles/Financial Information
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new window Company profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Access to comprehensive company information and data for U.S. and International public and private companies. Includes: company financials, SEC filings, current and historical annual reports, stock information, executive information, company history, competitors, and company news. Coverage: Historical data is available for the past 15 years. Limited to 3 concurrent users.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
Evidence Based Practice/Systematic Databases
EBP and systematic reviews can be found in many databases, but some databases specialize in these areas.
- Cochrane This link opens in a new window Health Sciences database containing mostly full-text systematic reviews and controlled trial data, as well as many citations.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window Index of full-text resources to support Evidence Based Practices (EBP), including recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets, and technical reports.
- Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window Recent evidence-based information, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and skill competency checklists covering social work. Also includes clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules, and patient education information. Coverage: 1996 - present.
Non-subscription EBP Sources on the Web, depending on your topic:
- California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC) The CEBC provides child welfare professionals with easy access to vital information about selected child welfare related programs. Each program is reviewed and rated utilizing the CEBC Scientific Rating scale to determine the level of evidence for the program. The programs are also rated on a Relevance to Child Welfare Rating Scale.
- CDC: The Community Guide The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
- Center for Evidence-Based Practice: Young Children with Challenging Behavior The Center for Evidence-Based Practice: Young Children with Challenging Behavior is funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs to raise the awareness and implementation of positive, evidence-based practices and to build an enhanced and more accessible database to support those practices.
- Centre for Reviews and Dissemination CRD is a department of the University of York and is part of the National Institute for Health Research. CRD undertakes high quality systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organization of health care. This organization produces DARE, NHS EED, and HTA databases. DARE, NHS EED, and HTA databases are similar to PEDro.
- EBP Substance Abuse Database The EBP Substance Abuse Database is a small, but growing, database of evidence-based interventions for treating substance use disorders. Interventions were selected according to criteria described on the About EBP page. Each record in the database includes a description of the intervention and its implementation, populations for which it has been shown to be effective, references to supporting literature, the availability of instructional manuals, and author/developer notes and other useful information.
- Evaluation Center’s EBP Metabase A searchable database of meta-analyses related of mental health interventions. It allows the user to find an intervention related to outcomes of interest and review the evidence of effectiveness.
- National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) NREPP is a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities.
- Matrix of Children’s Evidence-Based Interventions The NRI Center for Mental Health Quality and Accountability synthesized key literature reviews which summarized the effectiveness of prevention, intervention, and/or treatment programs that can be applied to child and adolescent mental health services. The purpose was not to redefine or create another hierarchy of what constitutes an evidence-based practice vs. a promising practice or emerging practice, but rather to compile a comprehensive list of interventions or programs that have been evaluated or more rigorously tested, and found to have varying degrees of evidence as to their effectiveness.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Index of dissertations and theses with abstracts and full-texts. Coverage: 1861-present.
- Loyola Dissertations Dissertations submitted in candidacy for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) at Loyola University Chicago.Dissertations under an embargo are not available in full text via this site. Please contact the eCommons administrator for access to embargoed dissertations.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,056,953 theses and dissertations
- OpenDissertations A database of Open Access dissertations. OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research. This new collaboration extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts and some full-text on the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1960 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections related to Catholicism, religion, and theology. Includes the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Coverage: 1949 - present.
- CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship This link opens in a new window Provides access to several bibliographic and full-text indexes to Journals in the area of Communications Scholarship.
- Institute for Research on Poverty This link opens in a new window The IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest.
- PapersFirst This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary index of individual papers presented at conferences, with abstracts from the British Library. Coverage: 1993 - present.
- Proceedings This link opens in a new window Citations of individual papers presented at conferences throughout the world. Coverage: 1993 - present.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Full-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
- Chicago Sun-Times 1986-current This link opens in a new window Full-text local and regional newspaper articles covering many topics including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Coverage: 1986 - present.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-current) This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Illinois Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text daily and weekly newspapers from Illinois. Coverage: 1972 - present.
Other newspapers can be found on the News Resources Guide.
Full Website and Mobile App Access:- New York Times Website This link opens in a new window Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com
This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Full-text news articles covering business, economics, and finances. Coverage: 1984 - present. Users must register to access resource. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: WSJ.com/LUC before attempting to access this resource.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window Educational videos for teaching and training in psychotherapy and related fields. Coverage: 1990s - present.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Documentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
- Ambrose Video 2.0 This link opens in a new window Educational videos in the subjects of social studies, literature, fine arts and the sciences. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Plays.
- Docuseek Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Documentary, independent, educational videos and films on a wide range of topics related to social issues, sustainability, the environment and more. Titles are available upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/avpurchase.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Videos covering a wide range of academic, vocational and life-skills topics. Titles are available upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/avpurchase.
- PsycTHERAPY This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of unscripted streaming videos of psychotherapy demonstrations. Coverage: 2011 - present.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window Feature films and documentaries spanning a number of genres from major studios such as Paramount, Universal, Warner Bros. and more. Films include cinema classics and contemporary films. This is a faculty curated collection. Titles are available upon request. You can browse the full selection of titles to add here.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowTheatrical monographs, scripts, and video productions from leading theatre companies, educational institutions, and arts collectives around the world.
Faculty may request other videos for class. DVDs are listed in the Library catalog and may be requested for contactless pickup. If you have any questions or concerns, please email lib-av@luc.edu or call 773.508.6232 (Monday – Friday 9 am – 5pm).
- Indigenous Cinema The National Film Board of Canada award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 3,000 productions. Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee. We also offer educational works on a subscription basis to schools and institutions. Our Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more. This includes a collection of films by Canadian Indigenous film makers.
- NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illiness NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation's largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.
- TEDx Talks TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world. We believe passionately in the power of ideas to change attitudes, lives and, ultimately, the world. On TED.com, we're building a clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers — and a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other, both online and at TED and TEDx events around the world, all year long.
- PBS Learning Media WTTW and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more just for Illinois teachers like you.
- Meltwater This link opens in a new window Social media monitoring and engagement software. Search by keyword through Tweets, Reddit, Instagram and Facebook posts to create instant dashboards and follow trending issues over time. Limited to 4 concurrent users. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- Voxgov a of record of unedited news and information from official government sources, including videos and press releases
- Smithsonian Learning Lab The Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning.
Reference Sources
- Social work speaks : NASW policy statements. Use https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html to request a chapter scan. Only available in print.
- The Social Work Podcast The Social Work Podcast provides information on all things social work, including direct practice (both clinical and community organizing), research, policy, education... and everything in between. Join your host, Jonathan Singer, Ph.D., LCSW, as he explores topics near and dear to every social worker's heart. The purpose of the podcast is to present useful information in a user-friendly format. Although the intended audience is social workers, the information will be useful to anyone in a helping profession (including psychology, nursing, psychiatry, counseling, and education). The general public might also find these podcasts useful as a way of learning what social workers understand to be important. If you have ideas for future podcasts, please send an email to jonathan dot b dot singer at gmail dot com.
- Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference sources related to history, law, and religious studies.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
- Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.
- ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. This encyclopedia makes counseling come alive through its user-friendly writing style;
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice Contains topics, concepts, and ideas which shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
- Encyclopedia of American activism, 1960 to the present The turbulence of the 1960s and 1970s spawned a spectrum of activist movements. In spirit and action, events ranged from: gentle to violent; from Tree People to Bloody Sunday; from Community Mental Health to Black Power. This rapid stream of social and political change defined the second half of the 20th century, yet had roots in the first half. The baby boom generation launched many movements. Unlike their Depression/WWII parents, the boomers, a large cohort of unattached, young adults, had no looming familial and social responsibilities. They had the freedom and resources for the consuming task of changing the world.
- Encyclopedia of Human Relationships The Encyclopedia of Human Relationships offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations—friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates, and so forth. Although each of these connections is unique in some respect, they share a common core of principles and processes. These three volumes provide a state-of-the-art review of the extensive theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.
- Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy This resource covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches that laid the foundation for the various contemporary treatment approaches.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism This reference tool examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, political & social leaders and notorious racists.
- Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence "This encyclopedia focuses on rape in contemporary society. Different categories of rape and sexual assault are examined both in the United States and globally. Though underreported, the data that are available clearly indicate that sexual violence is a global problem that affects not only women, but men and children, too. Perhaps some minds will be informed, by reading the twenty entries in this volume"-- Provided by publisher.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups The resource covers all aspects of social work with groups: including its history, values, major models, approaches and methods, education, research, journals, phases of development, working with specific populations and ages, plus many more. Each article, written by well-known and expert authors, includes references which can be a major resource for future exploration in the particular subject area.
- Encyclopedia of counseling : master review and tutorial for the national counselor examination, state counseling exams, and the counselor preparation comprehensive examination With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling, Fourth Edition, is still the only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE, and other counseling exams. Every chapter has new and updated material and is still written in Dr. Rosenthal's lively, user-friendly style counselors know and love. The book’s new and improved coverage incorporates a range of vital topics, including social media, group work in career counseling, private practice and nonprofit work, addictions, neurocounseling, research trends, the DSM-5, the new ACA and NBCC codes of ethics, and much, much more.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
- Historical Dictionary of Human Rights 2014 If the sheer number of references to human rights in media headlines or government statements is of any guidance, human rights concerns now appear virtually at the center of the framework of the norms, principles, and obligations that shape relations within the international community both among and within states. That political journey began, perhaps arbitrarily, on 10 December, 1948, when the United Nations General Assembly (UN-GA) embraced and proclaimed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), a ringing endorsement and advocacy of the notion that regardless of race, religion or nationality, all men and women, everywhere in the world are entitled to the human rights and fundamental freedoms simply because they are human. The Historical Dictionary of Human Rights covers the history of the Human Rights movement through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 1000 cross-referenced entries on terminology, conventions, treaties, intergovernmental organizations in the United Nations family or regional bodies, and the constantly expanding universe of non-governmental organizations, as well as some of the pioneers and defenders. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Human Rights movement.
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Lewis Ref HQ9 .E52 2003 (Print) Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages.
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender "The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology & Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology--topics that resonate across disciplines and inform our everyday lives. This Encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood as well as throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more. With articles written by experts across a variety of disciplines, this encyclopedia brings insights on the psychology of gender, through the lens of developmental science, social science, clinical and counseling psychology, sociology, and more. This encyclopedia provides librarians, students, and professionals with ready access to up-to-date information that informs some of today's key contemporary issues and debates."--Provided by publisher.
- Routledge handbook of green social work Green social work espouses a holistic approach to all peoples and other living things – plants and animals, and the physical ecosystem; emphasises the relational nature of all its constituent parts; and redefines the duty to care for and about others as one that includes the duty to care for and about planet earth.
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society This encyclopedia presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present.
- DSM Legacy Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection that includes previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. Includes: DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
- WHO International Classification of Diseases The International Classification of Diseases is the standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management, and clinical purposes. This includes the analysis of the general health situation of population groups. It is used to monitor the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems, providing a picture of the general health situation of countries and populations.
- Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Illinois procedure and form for Illinois liscensure.
- Social work ASWB masters exam guide : a comprehensive study guide for success A full practice test with 170 questions that mirrors the actual ASWB® Masters Exam in length, structure, and content, with detailed explanations of the correct answers. Identifies the Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities statements (KSAs) for each question so test-takers can easily locate relevant source materials for further stud
- Social work ASWB bachelors exam guide: a comprehensive study guide for success Apgar, D. (2017). Social work ASWB bachelors exam guide: a comprehensive study guide for success, second edition. In Social work ASWB bachelors exam guide (2nd ed.). Springer Publishing Company.
- Meltwater This link opens in a new window
Social media monitoring and engagement software. Search by keyword through Tweets, Reddit, Instagram and Facebook posts to create instant dashboards and follow trending issues over time. Limited to 4 concurrent users. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- Pew Research Center The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.
- Roper Center The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
- World Public Opinion WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. As the world becomes increasingly integrated, problems have become increasingly global, pointing to a greater need for understanding between nations and for elucidating global norms. With the growth of democracy in the world, public opinion has come to play a greater role in the foreign policy process. WorldPublicOpinion.org seeks to reveal the values and views of publics in specific nations around the world as well as global patterns of world public opinion. WorldPublicOpinion.org is managed by the Program for Public Consultation.
General/Social Sciences Databases
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window Index of citations of journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage: 1990 - present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
- OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Index of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index with some full-text and abstracts covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.