Skip to Main Content
LUC Libraries Licensed
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, periodicals, and primary sources related to African Studies and the African Diaspora. Coverage: 1827 - 2003
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and handbooks covering African American and African history and culture. Limited to three simultaneous users.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Index of full-text materials related to South, Southeast, and East Asia. Includes books, articles, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1971 - present.
Indigenous Peoples: North America Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.
Hispanic American Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean, including the political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. Coverage: late 1960s - present.
Journal of Ethnic And Cultural Diversity in Social Work
Publishes research on multicultural social issues in all aspects of social work policy, including the impact of culture, ethnicity, and class on human services.
Intersectionalities: A Global Journal of Social Work Analysis, Research, Polity, and Practice
The purpose of this journal is to share knowledge and facilitate collaborative discourse amongst social work theorists, practitioners, educators, activists, researchers, and the community members they serve within local, regional and global contexts. The journal seeks to promote social justice by providing a forum for addressing issues of social difference and power in relation to progressive practice, education, scholarly inquiry, and social policy.
aboriginal policy studies
aboriginal policy studies
This journal is also based in Canada. It publishes original, scholarly, and policy-relevant research on issues relevant to Métis, non-status Indians and urban Aboriginal peoples in Canada, and also welcomes comparative work from an international Indigenous context pertinent to Canadian readers. It is fully open access.
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education and Society
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society solicits any work purposefully engaged in the decolonization process, regardless of discipline or field, encouraging work that actively seeks undisciplinary connections that work both against and beyond the Western academy. We recognize that this is a wide net to cast but feel strongly that decolonization must happen at all levels, in all fields, and all locations; decolonization seeks to explore the relationships between knowledges and tears down the artificial disciplinary demarcations of dominant ways of knowing and being. Colonial power affects all areas of life and thought - this journal seeks to engage and confront that power at every level.
First Peoples Child & Family Review
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad. Read more about the journal.
International Indigenous Policy Journal (IIPJ)
IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world.
Indigenous Social Work Journal Canadian Association of ...
Launched in 1997, the Indigenous Social Work Journal (formerly the Native Social Work Journal) is a scholarly and community-based publication committed to the preservation, revitalization and promotion of the expanding field of Indigenous social work knowledge, theories and practices. Both academic and community-based researchers and practitioners have contributed articles representative of their communities, their research and frameworks for best practice with Indigenous, Aboriginal, First Nations, Metis and Inuit groups as well as other International Indigenous groups. This journal aims to increase the volume and dissemination of mainly Indigenous authorship and to increase the accessibility of Indigenous social work scholarship. This journal provides tools for practitioners, academics, social workers, communities and others engaged in Indigenous social work activities. As well, Laurentian University, Sudbury, Ontario where the Board of the Journal of Indigenous Social Development (JISD) and its members are based, has a repository for all the Indigenous social work journals both print-based and online.
International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies
The International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies disseminates scholarship across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Law and Education in the field of Indigenous Studies. Indigenous scholars from around the world share common experiences of colonisation. Our collective politics have been shaped by our intellectual traditions which inform our work within the academy.
International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA)
The International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA) is a global human rights organisation dedicated to promoting, protecting and defending Indigenous Peoples’ rights.
Journal of Indigenous Research
This Journal was created in response to community requests for information about research that has been conducted among their people. The focus of this publication is to obtain articles about research conducted with Native American, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian, Maori populations- written for laypeople - and approximately 1500-2000 words.
Journal of Indigenous Social Development
The Journal of Indigenous Social Development (JISD) is committed to advancing education, practice, research and policymaking relevant to indigenous peoples’ social and economic wellbeing. JISD is a peer-reviewed journal published exclusively in open-access electronic form. The Journal provides a forum for scholars and practitioners from diverse disciplines to expand knowledge and develop dialogue relevant to indigenous communities globally. Intended to reflect diverse communities and perspectives, the editorial board, special issues editors, and reviewers include Elders and leaders of indigenous communities, community-based practitioners, policymakers, university educators, and researchers.
MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address Indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.
Native social work journal: Nishnaabe kinoomaadwin naadmaadwin
The Native Social Work Journal is registered with the Canadian Association of Learned Journals.
Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Community and Indigenous Health
A peer reviewed, web-based journal published twice each year by Native Counselling Services of Alberta, in partnership with the CRCAH in Australia, Papa Ola Lokahi in Hawaii, and the International Indigenous Council for Healing Our Spirit Worldwide. The articles are multidisciplinary, and of interest to a wide range of readers, including both community and academic researchers.
African & Black Diaspora
"Advances the analytical and interrogative discourse that constitutes the distinctive field of African diaspora studies in the production of knowledge by focusing on issues such as power, knowledge, gender, race and other forms of social identity."
African American Review
Full-text and complete back issues to this important literary criticism journal, including articles, reviews, editorials, individual poems, etc. Coverage includes 1967-96 (some under previous titles).
African Journals Online (AJOL)
AJOL is "the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals." Includes more than 200 open access journals!
African Journals Online (AJOL)
Access to African published research in over 200 scholarly peer-reviewed journals. Table of contents and abstracts are freely available. Links to online full text where available (currently provides full text articles for 70 journals).
"Focuses on the social sciences dealing with Africa and aims to promote a deeper understanding of African peoples and cultures."
Journal of the Black Left Unity Network
Black Diaspora Review
From Indiana University, this journal provides "... a forum for the scholarly critiques; debates every aspect of Black Diaspora studies, including its mission, curricula, ideology and/or scholarly methodologies, linkages to other academic disciplines links to extra-academic communities, and its future."
Callaloo, the premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide. Recently ranked 13th in Every Writer's Resource's Top 50 Literary Magazines, Callaloo offers an engaging mixture of fiction, poetry, critical articles, interviews, drama, and visual art.
The Crisis (from the Modernist Journals Project)
Important journal founded by W. E. B. Du Bois, covering years 1910-1922.
Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Higher education information, statistics, and short articles relevant to African American issues & diverse populations in the U.S.
Amazing full text archive of this important African American news and culture magazine, 1950-2008
Journal of African American Males in Education
"Devoted to advancing scholarship and practice on African American males in education"
Journal of African Cultural Studies
Focuses on dimensions of African culture including literature, performance, art, music, the role of the media, & the relationship between culture & power.
Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
The striking new importance of higher education in the lives of black Americans is a major reason for The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education (JBHE). JBHE provides new information about the governance, policies, and practices in our colleges and universities. JBHE also publishes articles which address the broader intellectual issues, policies, and strategies that affect the progress of blacks in institutions of higher education.
Journal of Black Studies
For the last quarter century, the Journal of Black Studies has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the scholarship in the field, the Journal of Black Studies explores the most vital issues facing African American and Black populations.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Your best choice for finding Latinx & Latin American journal articles! This database focuses on Latin American issues, but also includes significant US Latinx content. A useful feature in the HAPI interface allows you to limit your searches to find articles about "Hispanics in the US" only. The index provides citations to research articles published worldwide about US Latinx and Latin American issues in the social sciences and humanities. HAPI provides strong coverage of Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban American, and other US Latinx groups.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
From the University of Arizona's unique digital collections, this database provides digital artifact copies of rare historic Mexican American Spanish language newspapers and materials, with a strong focus on Arizona and the borderlands. Also includes Mexican American publications from El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico; coverage dates from mid-1800s to the 1970s. The search interface is a bit clunky though you will find fascinating primary materials.
Translating the Americas
A project of the University of Michigan Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Translating the Americas is a digital platform for publication and open access distribution of translations of important, previously published articles and book chapters.
JOLLAS (The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies)
The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer reviewed on-line journal housed at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The journal seeks to be reflective of the shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations across borders and throughout the Americas
Hispanic American Historical Review
The Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in its field.
Arizona Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies
Since 1997, the Arizona Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies has been publishing insightful essays on the relationships between economics and politics as they come to bear on the cultures of Spain, Latin America, Africa, Asia and the Chicano and Latino United States.
US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal
The US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal is a research publication created to mine, showcase, and promote the rich field of oral history as it relates specifically to the US Latina and Latino experience. Manuscripts are blind peer-reviewed and represent best practices of oral history and the highest research standards.
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures is a peer-reviewed humanities journal that provides a critical as well as creative space for Latina/o scholarship and cultural expression.
Latino(a) research review
The Latino(a) Research Review (LRR) is a refereed interdisciplinary journal focusing
on the experiences of the diverse Latino groups in the United States, and those of the
populations of Latin America and the Caribbean region
This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.
Associations and Organizations
(RE)generation: Indigenous Social Welfare Caucus
(RE)generation is a first of its kind inter-tribal graduate student group within the UC Berkeley School of Social Welfare. Developed by Indigenous social welfare graduate students and supported by the faculty and staff of the School of Social Welfare and the American Indian Graduate Program (AIGP).
Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)
As a health justice non-profit organization, APIAHF is dedicated to improving the health and well-being of more than 20 million AAs and NHPIs living in the United States and its jurisdictions. We believe that all persons have the right to be healthy, the right to live in a thriving community, and the right to quality, affordable, and accessible health care.
Asian American Psychological Association (AAPA)
The Asian American Psychological Association (AAPA) was founded in December 1972 by a group of Asian American psychologists and other mental health professionals in the San Fancisco Bay Area. The group was vitally interested in Asian American psychology and mental health issues, in the training and education of Asian American mental health professionals, and in collaborating and networking with their peers.
Asian American Social Work Task Force (NASW)
The Asian American Social Work Task Force (AASW Task Force) of the National Association of Social Workers’ New York City Chapter is a professional network for social workers of Asian descent with a mission to enhance professional growth and development and to advance equitable representation of Asian American social workers throughout all health and human service delivery systems.
Asian Mental Health Collective
It is the mission of the Asian Mental Health Collective to normalize and de-stigmatize mental health within the Asian community.
Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)
The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) was formed to create a national voice to advocate for the unique and diverse health needs of Asian American (AA), Native Hawaiian (NH), and Pacific Islander (PI) communities and the community health providers that serve their needs.
Association of Latino/Latina Social Work Educators
The mission of the Association of Latino/Latina Social Work Educators (ALLSWE) is to support the advancement of social work education especially among the Latino population. It is a self-governing organization with guaranteed mechanisms for participation and representation in all matters that will affect the work done in education and research in the field of social work and will promote professional knowledge of its' members.
Illinois Association of School Social Workers
IASSW is dedicated to improving the quality of life and education for children by enhancing the professional development of school social workers.
International Association for Social Work with Groups (IASWG)
The International Association for Social Work with Groups (IASWG), Inc. is the premier international association for social workers and allied helping professionals engaged in group work. The purpose of this non-profit, member-driven organization is to promote excellence in group work practice, education, field instruction, research and publication.
Latino Social Workers Organization
The Latino Social Workers Organization (LSWO) provides Continuing Education focused on Social Work Practice in Latinx communities.
National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW)
The National Association of Black Social Workers, Inc., comprised of people of African ancestry, is committed to enhancing the quality of life and empowering people of African ancestry through advocacy, human services delivery, and research.
National Association of Black Social Workers, Inc. will work to create a world in which people of African ancestry will live free from racial domination, economic exploitation, and cultural oppression. In collaboration with national, international, and other appropriate groups, NABSW will continue to leverage its collective expertise to strategically develop capacity of people of African ancestry to sustain and flourish. NABSW’s vision is guided by the Principles of the Nguzo Saba, which are Unity, Self-determination, Collective Work and Responsibility, Cooperative Economics, Purpose, Creativity, and Faith, and the Seven Cardinal Virtues of Ma’at, which are Right, Truth, Justice, Order, Reciprocity, Balance, and Harmony.
National Association of Deans and Directors of Schools of Social Work
The National Association of Deans and Directors of Schools of Social Work (NADD) is a volunteer membership organization working to promote excellence in social work education. NADD achieves this by enhancing the leadership of social work education programs. Our membership is comprised of deans and directors of graduate social work programs that are accredited or advanced to candidacy. NADD supports deans and directors in their professional development and effectiveness as academic administrators.
National Association of Social Work (NSW)
The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards for social workers, and to advance sound social policies.
National Coalition for Asian Pacific Americans Community Development (National CAPACD)
National CAPACD is a progressive coalition of local organizations that advocate for and organize in low-income AAPI communities and neighborhoods. We strengthen and mobilize our members to build power nationally and further our vision of economic and social justice for all.
National Network for Social Work Managers
The Network for Social Work Management is an international organization focused on strengthening and advancing social work management within health and human services. The Network is a membership organization for social workers and human services professionals, working at all levels of management, across a broad and diverse range of organizations. We provide our members with a platform to communicate, collaborate and encourage one another to grow within their professional careers
National Organization of Forensic Social Work
The National Organization of Forensic Social Work endeavors to advance social justice through the interprofessional collaboration of human service and legal systems.
North American Association of Christian Social Workers (NACSW)
The North American Association of Christians in Social Work (NACSW) is a non-profit Christian social work organization. Our mission is to equip our members to integrate Christian faith and professional social work practice. We welcome Christian social workers of all denominations. Members of NACSW represent a rich diversity of Christian denominations and traditions.
School Social Work Association of America
The School Social Work Association of America is a membership organization empowering school social workers and promoting the profession of school social work.
Society for Social Work Leadership in Healthcare
As the premier national and international organization for social workers in health care, we will empower members by providing access to evidence-based standards of practice, enhanced partnerships and collaboration, actionable support and education for direct care social workers, advocacy to inform local and national social policy and education for and connection with emerging and established leaders.
Society for Spirituality and Social Work
The Society for Spirituality and Social Work is a network of social workers and other helping professionals dedicated to spiritually sensitive practice and education. We seek to encourage, honor, and nurture the diverse religious and non-religious paths, resources, and traditions that offer meaning and support to people, including ourselves. We are committed to promoting well-being and justice for all people and all beings. Our events and materials are designed to promote research, development of theory, and dissemination of innovations for practice and policy related to spirituality in our profession. In our gatherings, we celebrate the values of dignity, interdependence, compassion, respect, peace, justice, and connection with that which people feel is most significant or sacred.
Decolonize Social Work
A conversation about social work, oppression, and liberation.
Doin’ The Work: Frontline Stories of Social Change
Podcast highlighting people working for social change. Interviews with social workers & those in related fields, educators, and activists about their work. Racial Justice/Liberatory Practice focus.
Political Social Worker (Blog)
Politics through a social work lens: The Political Social Worker blog covers politics, social welfare policy, and social justice issues from a social work perspective.
Social Work Discoveries (Blog)
A podcast on social work, research, and making the world a better place. Go to swdiscoveries.com for more info.
The Social Work Podcast
The Social Work Podcast provides information on all things social work, including direct practice (both clinical and community organizing), research, policy, education... and everything in between. Join your host, Jonathan Singer, Ph.D., LCSW, as he explores topics near and dear to every social worker's heart. The purpose of the podcast is to present useful information in a user-friendly format. Although the intended audience is social workers, the information will be useful to anyone in a helping profession (including psychology, nursing, psychiatry, counseling, and education). The general public might also find these podcasts useful as a way of learning what social workers understand to be important. If you have ideas for future podcasts, please send an email to jonathan dot b dot singer at gmail dot com.
The Social Work Stories Podcast
A podcast exploring Social Work practice through stories & critical reflection.
Social Work Talks (NASW) (Podcast)
NASW Social Work Talks podcast gives us an opportunity to explore topics that social workers care about and to hear from social work experts and practitioners.
SWHELPER - Social Work Helper (Blog)
Social Work Helper is an award-winning, mission-driven, and progressive news website. We are dedicated to providing information, resources, and entertainment related to social work, social justice, and social good. Our audience is comprised of academics, policymakers, social workers, students, practitioners, helping professionals, caregivers and people looking for information to help themselves or a loved one.
National Film Board of Canada
Our Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee. We also offer educational works on a subscription basis to schools and institutions. Many indigenous film.
In 1978, ten years after the development of NABSW, the annual conference convened in San Francisco, the city where the initial group of Black social workers walked out of the National Conference on Social Welfare, gathered at Glide Memorial Church and pledged to start an organization that reflected an understanding of the unique issues faced by African Americans in the social service arena, both those providing and receiving services. At a ceremony at Glide Memorial, President Howard Brabson presented certificates to over 100 NABSW members who had remained active with the organization since its inception. The full list of pioneers may never be known, however, the list below reflects the names we are currently aware of and we will be relying on those we know to fill in the blanks until the full list of loyal members has been completed.