Chicago Communities Map
Communities in Chicago
Click on the Community Name to see the Encyclopedia Of Chicago page on that Community
These Chicago Community areas have remained, basically the same since the 1920's. These are differentiated from nrighborhoods due to their stabile boundaries.
Convert a Community to another defined area
- City of Chicago - Wards and AldermenFind wards or alderman for specific areas
Outside Chicago Communities
Newspaper Articles about Communities
Many of the local Chicago newspapers have sections on different city neighborhoods and their local news. Many of the sources here are subscribed to by the University Libraries.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
- Block Club Chicago Current Neighborhood news for the Chicago area.
- Chicago Neighborhood and Community Newspapers A list of local papers for some Chicago neighborhoods.
- Chicago Sun-Times 1986-current This link opens in a new window Full-text local and regional newspaper articles covering many topics including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Coverage: 1986 - present.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-current) This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Crains Chicago Business Feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago.
- Illinois Newpapers by 50 states - a list of town and city newspapers in Illniois.
- Chronicling America - Library of Congress Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Databases
- Data and Statistics about the U.S Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census and learn how to respond.
- ICPSR Data Access This link opens in a new window Archive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business.
- My Congressional District My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. CBP provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees at a detailed geography and industry level. My Congressional District is powered by ACS and CBP data through the Census Application Programming Interface (API). Sources: 2019 American Community Survey 1-Year Estimates and 2018 County Business Patterns
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 200,000+ data variables, including demographic census data, 23 million+ businesses, and survey marketing & health data. To access, first create a personal workspace or log-in as a guest.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Digitized maps and census data related to demographic information in the U.S. Coverage: 1790 - 2000. Limited to three simultaneous users.
- USA.gov (Government websites) an index to government webpages, statistics, publication and other information at the international, federal, state, and local levels.
Tools
- Chicago Community Areas and ZIP Codes - City of Chicago Zip codes by map for Chicago Greater Area by the Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission.
- Illinois State Legislative District Maps From the Illinois Blue Book 2019–2020
- Zip Codes (Illinois) Pprovides a wealth of FREE useful tools and information about each zip code.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Some sources may give you information based on NAICS. NAICS is the standard used by federal statistical agencies (and therefore by most others) in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
NAICS Manual - the manual for these numbers - click here
Common NAICS Codes for Social Work:
621330 Social workers', mental health, offices (e.g., centers, clinics)
624190 Individual and family social services, multi-purpose
624190 Mediation, social service, family, agencies
624190 Referral services for personal and social problems
624190 Social service agencies, family
624190 Social service centers, multi-purpose
624190 Family social service agencies
813319 Social change advocacy organizations
813920 Social workers' associations