Research and Learning Librarian
Liaison for the School of Education and the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the School of Social Work and the Department of English
University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
truppman@luc.edu
Our chat service is offline. Please email a librarian for assistance.
Chat services are not available on the following holidays: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, and July 4.
Popular Resources
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Social Services Abstracts
This link opens in a new windowCurrent research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
Social Work Abstracts
This link opens in a new windowIndexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
DSM Legacy Collection
This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection that includes previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. Includes: DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
The updated version of the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. It is intended to be applicable in a wide array of contexts and used by clinicians and researchers of many different orientations.
Getting Started
Need a topic for an assignment or have a broad idea that you need to narrow down? Here are some resources to help:
Oxford Bibliographies. Social Work
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on social work as a discipline grounded in social theory and the improvement of peoples' lives. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.
NCJRS Topics
List of topics covered in criminal justice with recent publications and links to relivent government departments under each topic. NCJRS is the National Criminal Justice Reference Service from the US Department of Justice.
Opposing Viewpoints
This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
Most Used Social Work Databases
Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
PsycArticles
This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1894 - present.
Psychiatry Online
This link opens in a new windowPsychiatric resources including the DSM-5-TR and supporting texts, the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, an assortment of other APA journals and books, and other Association resources. Coverage: 1840s - present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
PsycINFO
This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Social Services Abstracts
This link opens in a new windowCurrent research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
Social Work Abstracts
This link opens in a new windowIndexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center from SAMHSA
SAMHSA is committed to improving prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders.
This new Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center aims to provide communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings. The Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.
