Research and Learning Librarian
Identifying Target Market
It is important to remember that the focus of marketing is people. The term "target market" is used because that market - that group of people - is the "bull's "eye" at which you aim all your marketing efforts. It is good to ask yourself....
- Who are your customers?
- To whom will this product appeal
Online Resources for Target Market Data
- AdForum This link opens in a new windowA searchable library of commercials, ad campaigns of all media types and a directory of advertising and marketing agencies. Also includes case studies, advertising awards information, industry news, and job resources. Coverage: 2000 - present. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
- Meltwater This link opens in a new window
Social media monitoring and engagement software. Search by keyword through Tweets, Reddit, Instagram and Facebook posts to create instant dashboards and follow trending issues over time. Limited to 4 concurrent users. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowResearch reports on consumer markets and products in the United States. Includes related demographic data and analysis, market opportunities and strategies, and articles on trends in global consumer markets. Coverage: new reports added weekly. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new windowData on consumer buying habits and preferences, demographic characteristics, and media usage from the annual National Consumer Survey. Create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and media behavior. Coverage: most recent data available is two years old. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA mapping application that creates thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. To access, first create a personal workspace.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access to a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.