Research & Learning Librarian
LUC Libraries
25 E. Pearson #619
Chicago, IL 60611
aalvarado2@luc.edu
Welcome to the Loyola University Chicago Arrupe College Research Guide!
This guide will introduce you to resources that are available to you, if at any point you are not sure where to find information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat.
Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
- OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1993 - present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowArticles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries on a variety of topics. Also includes tutorials on research basics.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
Chat with Librarians
Lewis Library
Lewis Library (Water Tower Campus): Main Entrance on the 6th floor, 8th floor is the quiet study floor, & the 9th floor has study rooms that can be reserved through the reservation system. Computers, quiet and group study areas, books, and electronic material for check-out
There are approximately 10 Group Study Rooms available for students to use. To reserve a room, you can use our online Group Study Reservation System. The Group workstations on the 6th floor have also been added to this reservation system. They are labeled, from north to south, as Group Workstations 1 through 4.
Needing a secure place to store books and other small personal items? Lockers are available for checkout at the Lewis Library Circulation Desk. The loan period for lockers is 7 days plus one renewal. Lockers are available to Loyola students, faculty, staff, and alumni on a first-come first served basis. For further information please contact Lewis Library Circulation Desk at 312-915-6622
Schedule an appointment online!
Check out "How to: Writing Center" for a short tutorial on setting up appointments online.
Preparing for your session:
- Schedule online using http://luc.mywconline.com to make an appointment with a tutor.
- Be on time for your appointment.
-
Come to the Writing Center with your paper assignment and with rough drafts, if you have them.
-
Ask questions during your session, and keep an open mind when your tutor makes suggestions.
-
Remember: The Writing Center is not a fix-it shop; we work with you to improve your writing.
Both the Lewis Library and information Commons Digital Media Labs featuring a wide array of robust workstations, multimedia applications and technical support for working with digital images, audio, and video.
The labs also offer a wide variety of equipment for check-out, including digital cameras, video cameras, iPads, and audio equipment.
See Digital Media Services for more information. Located on the 6th floor of the Lewis Library, Room 605.
Both the Lewis Library and Information Commons provides best effort to help with technical issues for WiFi: