Welcome!
This course research guide is for ACENG 274: Exploring Shakespeare. Use it to find works by Shakespeare and information in many formats on this most-famous writer's life, times, and works.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare by
Situated within the Oxford Handbooks to Literature series, the group of Oxford Handbooks to Shakespeare are designed to record past and present investigations and renewed and revised judgments by both familiar and younger Shakespearean specialists. Each of these volumes is edited by one or more internationally distinguished Shakespeareans; together, they comprehensively survey the entire field. An essential resource for the study of Shakespeare, The Oxford Handbook to Shakespeare is edited by esteemed scholar Arthur Kinney and contains forty specially written essays. It provides fresh and imaginative readings of his plays and poems, reflects on the current state of Shakespeare Studies, and suggests the likely future directions it will take. The Handbook is divided into five sections: 'Texts' explores how Shakespeare wrote, who he collaborated with, the ways in which his works were transmitted, and the reactions of his early readers; 'Conditions' examines the economic, social, artistic, and linguistic forces at play on Shakespeare; 'Works' discusses the various stages of his career; 'Performances' is concerned with issues such as the reception of his plays, the theatre business, and film adaptations; and 'Current Speculations' includes essays on topics ranging from the role of philosophical thought and the influence of classical sources to the relevance of empire, technology, religion, and law. By covering the range of Shakespeare's work in his time and ours, this myriad-minded book deepens and enriches our understanding of the great poet and unparalleled playwright's accomplishments.
Call Number: Online & PR2976 .O94 2012ISBN: 9780199566105Publication Date: 2012-02-20
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and Performance by
Shakespearean performance criticism has undergone a sea change in recent years, and strong tides of discovery are continuing to shift the contours of the discipline. The essays in this volume, written by scholars from around the world, reveal how these critical cross-currents are influencingthe ways we now view Shakespeare in performance.The volume is organised in four Parts. Part I interrogates how Shakespeare continues to achieve contemporaneity for Western audiences by exploring modes of performance, acting styles, and aesthetic choices regarded as experimental. Part II tackles the burgeoning field of reception: how and whyaudiences respond to performances as they do, or actors to the conditions in which they perform; how immersive productions turn spectators into actors; how memory and cognition shape and reshape the performances we think we saw. Part III addresses the ways in which revolutions in technology havealtered our views of Shakespeare, both through the mediums of film and sound recording, and through digitalizing processes that have generated a profound reconsideration of what performance is and how it is accessed. The final Part grapples with intercultural Shakespeare, considering not onlymatters of cultural hegemony and appropriation in a "global" importation of non-Western productions to Europe and North America, but also how Shakespeare has been made "local" in performances staged or filmed in African, Asian, and Latin American countries. Together, these ground-breaking essaysattest to the richness and diversity of Shakespearean performance criticism as it is practiced today, and they point the way to critical continents not yet explored.
Call Number: PR3091 .O94 2017ISBN: 9780199687169Publication Date: 2018-01-23
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Popular Culture by
This Companion explores the remarkable variety of forms that Shakespeare's life and works have taken over the course of four centuries, ranging from the early modern theatrical marketplace to the age of mass media, and including stage and screen performance, music and the visual arts, the television serial and popular prose fiction. The book asks what happens when Shakespeare is popularized, and when the popular is Shakespeareanized; it queries the factors that determine the definitions of and boundaries between the legitimate and illegitimate, the canonical and the authorized and the subversive, the oppositional, the scandalous and the inane. Leading scholars discuss the ways in which the plays and poems of Shakespeare, as well as Shakespeare himself, have been interpreted and reinvented, adapted and parodied, transposed into other media, and act as a source of inspiration for writers, performers, artists and film-makers worldwide.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1107481341Publication Date: 2007
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film by
Film adaptations of Shakespeare's plays are increasingly popular and now figure prominently in the study of his work and its reception. This Companion is a lively collection of critical and historical essays on the films adapted from, and inspired by, Shakespeare's plays. Chapters have been revised and updated from the first edition to include the most recent films and scholarship. An international team of leading scholars discuss Shakespearean films from a variety of perspectives: as works of art in their own right; as products of the international movie industry; and as the work of particular directors from Laurence Olivier and Orson Welles to Franco Zeffirelli and Kenneth Branagh. They also consider specific issues such as the portrayal of Shakespeare's women and the supernatural. The emphasis is on feature films for cinema, rather than television, with strong coverage of Hamlet, Richard III, Macbeth, King Lear and Romeo and Juliet.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1107481538Publication Date: 2007
The New Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare by
Written by a team of leading international scholars, this Companion is designed to illuminate Shakespeare's works through discussion of the key topics of Shakespeare studies. Twenty-one essays provide lively and authoritative approaches to recent scholarship and criticism for readers keen to expand their knowledge and appreciation of Shakespeare. The book contains stimulating chapters on traditional topics such as Shakespeare's biography and the transmission of his texts. Individual readings of the plays are given in the context of genre as well as through the cultural and historical perspectives of race, sexuality and gender, and politics and religion. Essays on performance survey the latest digital media as well as stage and film. Throughout the volume, contributors discuss Shakespeare in a global as well as a national context, a dramatist with a long and constantly mutating history of reception and performance.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0521886325Publication Date: 2010-03-25
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's History Plays by
Shakespeare's history plays have been performed more in recent years than ever before, in Britain, North America, and in Europe. This 2002 volume provides an accessible, wide-ranging and informed introduction to Shakespeare's history and Roman plays. It is attentive throughout to the plays as they have been performed over the centuries since they were written. The first part offers accounts of the genre of the history play, of Renaissance historiography, of pageants and masques, and of women's roles, as well as comparisons with history plays in Spain and the Netherlands. Chapters in the second part look at individual plays as well as other Shakespearean texts which are closely related to the histories. The Companion offers a full bibliography, genealogical tables, and a list of principal and recurrent characters. It is a comprehensive guide for students, researchers and theatre-goers alike.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0521775396Publication Date: 2002-12-05
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Contemporary Dramatists by
While Shakespeare's popularity has continued to grow, so has the attention paid to the work of his contemporaries. The contributors to this Companion introduce the distinctive drama of these playwrights, from the court comedies of John Lyly to the works of Richard Brome in the Caroline era. With chapters on a wide range of familiar and lesser-known dramatists, including Thomas Kyd, Christopher Marlowe, Ben Jonson, John Webster, Thomas Middleton and John Ford, this book devotes particular attention to their personal and professional relationships, occupational rivalries and collaborations. Overturning the popular misconception that Shakespeare wrote in isolation, it offers a new perspective on the most impressive body of drama in the history of the English stage.
Call Number: Online & PR653 .C27 2012ISBN: 0511994524Publication Date: 2012-12-05
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some abstracts and some full-text journal articles, books, series, translations, and dissertations on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes. Coverage: 1900s - present.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex of abstracts, ebooks, and full-text articles related to film, television, and media. Coverage: 1976 - present.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowIndex of literary criticism with full-text from several collections including Contemporary, 20th-Century, 19th-Century, Shakespearean, 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval, Poetry, Short Story, Drama and Children's.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text bibliographies examining British and Irish literature.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text essays from Cambridge Companions in literature, classics; philosophy, religion, and culture.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowTheatrical monographs, scripts, and video productions from leading theatre companies, educational institutions, and arts collectives around the world.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowVideos covering performances of the world's leading plays as well as documentaries on productions, experimental performances and interviews by hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Coverage: 1930s - present.
- Ambrose Video 2.0 This link opens in a new windowEducational videos in the subjects of social studies, literature, fine arts and the sciences. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Plays.
- National Theatre Collection: Volume I This link opens in a new windowHigh-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
- National Theatre Collection: Volume II This link opens in a new windowVolume II builds upon the first volume with an additional 20 high-quality video productions featuring fresh takes on the classics, compelling performances, and offering students equitable online access to the highest-quality theatre productions available
Crown of Life - Wilson Knight by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1317833759Publication Date: 2014-05-12First published in 2002. This book is a collection of essays on the interpretation of Shakespeare's final plays and includes works on Pericles, A Winter's Tale; Cymbeline, The Tempest and Henry VIII.
Making Shakespeare by Call Number: Online & PR3071 .S67 2004ISBN: 9780415319652Publication Date: 2004-03-25Making Shakespeare is a lively introduction to the major issues of the stage and print history, whilst also raising questions about what a Shakespeare play actually is. Tiffany Stern reveals how London, the theatre, the actors and the way in which the plays were written and printed all affect the 'Shakespeare' that we now read. Concentrating on the instability and fluidity of Shakespeare's texts, her book discusses what happened to a manuscript between its first composition, its performance on stage and its printing, and identifies traces of the production system in the plays we read.
Shakespeare's Thought by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1498537502Publication Date: 2018-03-23Shakespeare's Thought: Unobserved Details and Unsuspected Depths in Eleven Plays demonstrates that Shakespeare's plays were conceived and executed as studies of great moral and political issues. After examining the divergent views of critics across the years, this book goes on to analyze eleven of Shakespeare's most famous plays, observing details and supplying interpretations that indicate the depth of his mind and the full extent of his artistic spirit. This book offers an in-depth exploration of the ways in which each play demonstrates Shakespeare's political thought and his poetic genius.
Making Sense in Shakespeare by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789042035027Publication Date: 2012-01-01Etymologically speaking, the words "know" and "narrate" share a common ancestry. "Making Sense in Shakespeare "examines some of the ways in which this distant kinship comes into play in Shakespearean drama. The argument of the book is that at a time in European cultural history in which the problem of knowledge was a matter of intensifying philosophical concern, Shakespeare too was in his own way exploring the possibilities and shortcomings of the various interpretative models that can be applied to experience so as to make it intelligible.
Shakespeare's Problem Plays by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1487574738Publication Date: 1950-12-15Dr. Tillyard discusses religious dogma, evil, human nature, and youth and age, before tracing their effect in the individual plays, so that his study not only illumines each piece but also its neighbours. He thus succeeds in bringing these apparently disparate works into sharp focus
- English Library Research GuideThis guide contains information about resources for literary research at the Loyola Chicago Libraries.