Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Arrupe College

A Guide to library resources for the Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago.

Databases

What is a library database?

A database is a searchable collection of information. In library research, a database is where you find journal articles but can also include newspaper articles, books, videos, and audio files.

Each database contains thousands of articles which you can search for simultaneously and quickly to find articles with higher relevancy than searching in individual journals. Databases are highly organized and allow students to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. Most databases at Loyola University Chicago provide access to full-text content, which means that you will find entire articles available, not just summaries or citations of articles.

Getting Started

Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available. 

Library Resources for Background Information

In the Lewis and Cudahy Libraries Reference Collections there are many great print encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. 

We also have many online reference sources which are easy to access and easy to use.  See below for some useful online resources!

Subject Specific Resources

Newspapers