Immigration
This guide provides information and links to tools and resources that will help you with your research on immigration-related topics.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by Call Number: Lewis Library Reference JV6465 .E53 2010ISBN: 9781587655999Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by
Immigration from foreign countries was a small part of the peopling of the American West but an important aspect in building western infrastructure, cities, and neighborhoods. The Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West provides much more than ethnic groups crossing the plains, landing at ports, or crossing borders; this two-volume work makes the history of the American West an important part of the American experience. Through sweeping entries, focused biographies, community histories, economic enterprise analysis, and demographic studies, this Encyclopedia presents the tapestry of the West and its population during various periods of migration. The two volumes examine the settling of the West and include coverage of movements of American Indians, African Americans, and the often-forgotten role of women in the West's development.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781412905503Publication Date: 2006-02-24
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stack JV6465 .E53 2001ISBN: 0765680289Publication Date: 2001-02-28
The Making of Modern Immigration by
Combining the insight of two-dozen expert contributors to examine key figures, events, and policies over 200 years of U.S. immigration history, this work illuminates the foundations of the ethnic and socioeconomic makeup of our nation.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780313392030Publication Date: 2012-02-01
The Gringo Champion by Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks PQ7298.434.I46 C3613 2017ISBN: 9781609453657Publication Date: 2017-01-17
The Book of Unknown Americans by Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PS3608.E565 B66 2015ISBN: 9780345806406Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Behold the Dreamers by Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks PS3613.B84 L66 2016ISBN: 9780812998481Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Sour Heart by Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks PS3626.H36 A6 2017ISBN: 9780399589386Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Beyond the Narrow Gate by Call Number: Library Storage Facility Stacks E184.C5 C445 1999ISBN: 0525942572Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Across a Hundred Mountains by Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PS3607.R3627 A63 2007ISBN: 9780743269582Publication Date: 2007-05-15
The Refugees by Call Number: Lewis Library Popular Reading Collection PS3614.G97 A6 2017ISBN: 9780802126399Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Of Women and Salt by Call Number: PS3607.A721833 O38 2021ISBN: 9781250776686Publication Date: 2021-03-30A sweeping, masterful debut about a daughter's fateful choice, a mother motivated by her own past, and a family legacy that begins in Cuba before either of them were born. In present-day Miami, Jeanette is battling addiction. Daughter of Carmen, a Cuban immigrant, she is determined to learn more about her family history from her reticent mother and makes the snap decision to take in the daughter of a neighbor detained by ICE.
In the Shadows: Undocumented Immigration in America by
Esta película, un moderno "Grapes of Wrath", sigue a Jairo y su extensa familia de inmigrantes indocumentados desde su hogar en México hasta una granja lechera en los EE.UU. En busca de una vida mejor y un medio para enviar dinero a sus familias en dificultades. En el camino, se encuentran con peligrosas condiciones de cruce de fronteras y un encuentro con las autoridades de inmigración. Esta película explora por qué la inmigración sigue siendo un problema permanente para nuestro país.
Publication Date: 2013
Protect, Serve, and Deport by
Protect, Serve, and Deport exposes the on-the-ground workings of local immigration enforcement in Nashville, Tennessee. Between 2007 and 2012, Nashville's local jail participated in an immigration enforcement program called 287(g), which turned jail employees into immigration officers who identified over ten thousand removable immigrants for deportation. The vast majority of those identified for removal were not serious criminals but Latino residents arrested by local police for minor violations. Protect, Serve, and Deport explains how local politics, state laws, institutional policies, and police practices work together to deliver immigrants into an expanding federal deportation system, conveying powerful messages about race, citizenship, and belonging.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780520296305Publication Date: 2017-06-26
A Cost-Benefit Framework for Analyzing the Economic and Fiscal Impacts of State-Level Immigration Policies by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2016
Current Issues
- Access World News -- Special Reports NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
Google News: Immigration
Loading ...