Scholarships
Books
Apps to Find the Best Scholarships
- College Raptor College Raptor is a college search directory, but their real power comes in the form of their College Scholarship Calculator app. This app allows you to see a colleges true cost when financial aid and scholarships are factored in. You can compare colleges average financial aid packages and get estimates on how much you can expect to get in scholarships based on your GPA and SAT/ACT test scores.
- RaiseMe Raise.me, a college scholarship app, rewards high school students for their advanced classes and extracurricular activities with “micro-scholarships” -- guaranteed tuition payments paid by their eventual college -- that range from $25 to $1,000 for each of their academic achievements.
- Scholarship Advisor Scholarship Advisor is one tool in the larger toolkit of StudentAdvisor. The app allows you to search a database of thousands of scholarships by type and by school. You can see which scholarships are highly competitive and which are more easily attainable. Scholarship Advisor keeps track of your scholarships for you so you can easily see which ones you have already applied for and when applications are due.
- Scholarship Owl Similar to the Common App for college applications, Scholarship Owl allows you to submit for hundreds of scholarships with a single application. The site uses your information to find all of the scholarships in its database that you might qualify for and you are able to easily apply for one or all of them at once.
- Scholarships.com Scholarships.com gives you access to over 3.7 million local, state, and national college scholarships and grants. After filling out a questionnaire on your academic strengths, interest, activities, and skills, their platform will show you a list of scholarships matched to your profile. Available on iOS and Android devices
- SCHOLLY Scholly has helped students win more than $50 million in college scholarship money. It’s both an online search engine and mobile app. Just create an account, enter information about your location and activities, and Scholly will match you with local and national scholarships.
College Affordability & Transparency Center
-
College Affordability & Transparency Center, U.S. Dept. of EducationFind out which colleges have the highest and lowest tuition and net costs. How fast are college costs going up?
-
Mapping Student DebtHow borrowing for college affects the nation.
Government Resources
-
Federal Student AidFederal Student Aid, a part of the U.S. Department of Education, is the largest provider of student financial aid in the nation. The Office of Federal Student Aid helps to make college education possible for every dedicated mind by providing more than $150 billion in federal grants, loans, and work-study funds each year to more than 13 million students paying for college or career school.
-
College ScorecardFind school and financial aid information from this US Department of Education Website.
Help! How do I fill out the FAFSA?
Watch this video for help in filling out your FAFSA. Or try one of the resources below for more help in different formats:
- FAFSA Tutorial
As you complete the FAFSA, refer to this EducationQuest tool for a user-friendly explanation of each FAFSA question. (The tutorial opens in a separate window allowing you to access the online FAFSA and the tutorial at the same time.)
- 7 Easy Steps to the FAFSA
From UC Santa Barbara, a video tutorial that provides a students' guide to filling out the FAFSA.
General Resources
In addition to the funding portals listed below, many programs provide information on scholarships and loans. Check out Loyola University's Financial Aid page!
-
College BoardScholarships, loans, and financial aid information from the College Board.
-
College Scholarships OnlineScholarship, loan, and financial aid information.
-
FastwebSearchable scholarship and loan database.
-
FinAidFinAid was established in the fall of 1994 as a public service. This award-winning site has grown into the most comprehensive source of student financial aid information, advice, and tools -- on or off the web.
-
Mach25A searchable bank of over 600,000 scholarships for students at all levels of study.
-
Paying for College - US NewsUS News provides tips, tools, and articles that will help you to stay up-to-date on the best ways to pay for college, including scholarships, savings, grants, loans, and more.
-
Peterson's Online ResourcesPeterson's does not only provide a searchable database of graduate programs but also includes information on scholarships and financial aid for both undergraduates and graduate students.
-
Scholarships.comScholarships.com is one of the most widely-used and trusted free college scholarship search and financial aid information resources on the Internet. Its mission is to assist students and their families; not only in finding college scholarships, but also helping them explore valuable financial aid opportunities they may not have discovered otherwise.
-
TERI College AccessTERI College Access assists young people and adults from all backgrounds with planning for college and identifying sources of financial aid through school-based programs and college access centers located in libraries and community agencies.
-
Understanding CreditA student loan may be your first major credit experience. This is a good time to become aware of what credit is and how to responsibly manage credit health. This resource from Sallie Mae and FICO can help you to understand all of your options and responsibilities.
Google News: College & Financial Aid
Loading ...