PopCulture
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Call Number: Online AcessISBN: 9781558628533Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780684314518Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture by Call Number: Cudahy Library Reference HQ75.13 .P76 2008ISBN: 9780313335990Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781440800993Publication Date: 2013-01-01
African Americans and US Popular Culture by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0415275288Publication Date: 2003-09-23
Licensed Art Collections & Collections/Archives
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigitized images of fine art from around the world. All images can be freely used for educational and noncommercial scholarly purposes.
- CAMIO This ever-expanding collection includes many items from art museums throughout the world. There are works from books, architecture, costumes, etc. Images are for educational use only.
- The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy Over 300,000 items, including archives of authors' papers, 50,000 SF-related comic books, several fanzine collections, SF scripts, multimedia collections, fan conventions, newsletters, ephemera and collectibles. University of California at Riverside.
- Loyola University Libraries Digital Collections Among these links are photographs from Loyola's history, Jesuitica, Chicago history, and more. There are many resources here.
- Media History Digital Library The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative, led by Eric Hoyt at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for broad public access.
- Smithsonian Rock and Roll Collection A crowdsourced collection of photographs documenting rock and roll history.
- Wayback Machine Project dedicated to preserving defunct websites.
The Fairy Tale and Its Uses in Contemporary New Media and Popular Culture by
While fairy tales are constantly migrating into new cultures and new media, reinventing themselves along the way, recent years in particular have seen a wave of highly innovative but also highly disputable fairy-tale retellings in popular culture.
ISBN: 9783038423003Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Unpopular Culture by
This collection includes eighteen essays that introduce the concept of unpopular culture and explore its critical possibilities and ramifications from a large variety of perspectives. Proposing a third term that operates beyond the dichotomy of high culture and mass culture and yet offers a fresh approach to both, these essays address a multitude of different topics that can all be classified as unpopular culture.
ISBN: 9789089649669Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Imagining the Global by
Based on a series of case studies of globally distributed media and their reception in different parts of the world, Imagining the Global reflects on what contemporary global culture can teach us about transnational cultural dynamics in the 21st century.
ISBN: 9780472072439Publication Date: 2014-12-22
Making Sense of Suburbia Through Popular Culture by
We all know what suburbia is, indeed the majority of us live in it. Yet, despite this ubituity, with no formal definition of the contept, the suburbs have developed in our collective imagination through representations in popular culture, from Terry and June to Desparate Housewives.
Rupa Huq examines how suburbia has been depicted in novels, cinema, popular music and on television, charting changing trends both in the suburbs and popular media consumption and production.
ISBN: 9781780932231Publication Date: 2013-08-15
- Journal of Popular Culture The Journal of Popular Culture (TJPC) is a peer-reviewed journal and the official publication of the Popular Culture Association. The popular culture movement was founded on the principle that the perspectives and experiences of common folk offer compelling insights into the social world.
- Studies in Popular Culture Studies in Popular Culture, a journal of the Popular Culture Association in the South, publishes articles on popular culture however mediated: through film, literature, radio, television, music, graphics, print, practices, associations, events—any of the material or conceptual conditions of life. Its contributors from the United States, Australia, Canada, China, England, Finland, France, Ireland, Israel, Scotland, Spain, and the Turkish Republic of North Cyprus include distinguished anthropologists, sociologists, psychologists, cultural geographers, ethnomusicologists, historians, and scholars in comics, communications, film, games, graphics, literature, philosophy, religion, and television.
- Journal of Religion and Popular Culture The Journal of Religion and Popular Culture is a web-based, peer-reviewed journal committed to the academic exploration, analysis and interpretation, from a range of disciplinary perspectives, of the interrelations and interactions between religion and religious expression and popular culture, broadly defined as the products of contemporary mass culture. The journal is based in Canada but is international in scope, and open to explorations of religion and popular culture in a variety of nationalities and cultures.
- Studies in Latin American Popular Culture Studies in Latin American Popular Culture, an annual interdisciplinary journal, publishes articles, review essays, and interviews on diverse aspects of popular culture in Latin America. Articles are written in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
- Early popular visual culture Early Popular Visual Culture (EPVC) is a peer-reviewed, academic journal dedicated to stimulating research and interdisciplinary studies in relation to all forms of popular visual culture before 1930. EPVC examines the use and exploitation of popular cultural forms such as (but not limited to) cinema, photography, magic lanterns and music hall within the fields of entertainment, education, science, advertising and the domestic environment, and is primarily concerned with the evolving social, technological and economic contexts which such popular cultural products inhabited and defined.
- Psychology of popular media culture Psychology of Popular Media Culture is a scholarly journal dedicated to publishing empirical research and papers on how popular culture and general media influence individual, group, and system behavior.
Current Issues
- Access World News -- Special Reports NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New
Online Video Resources
- Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Videos and audio covering a wide variety of subjects. Individual collections include Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window Ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Topics include language, food and cooking, economic systems, caste systems, religion, music and the arts, sex, gender, and family.
- Filmakers Library Online II This link opens in a new window Documentary films with a focus on social and political issues. A wide range of topics are covered including anthropology, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, and literature. Coverage: 1980s-2017.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Documentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Documentaries, feature films, interviews, and archival footage exploring the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Topics include LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, and religious perspectives on homosexuality. Coverage: 1920s - present.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts This link opens in a new window Independent feature films and short films. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. Coverage: 1990 - present.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowVideos covering performances of the world's leading plays as well as documentaries on productions, experimental performances and interviews by hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Coverage: 1930s - present.