Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Women and Leadership Archives: Home

Getting Started with Archival Research

If you have never visited an archives before, or feel you need a refresher about doing research in an archives, we recommend you take a look at this Guide to Effective Research by the Society of American Archivists. This is an excellent guide to doing research in an archives and is incredibly helpful to read before visiting the archives to ensure you make the most of your trip.

The Women and Leadership Archives' collections of personal papers and organization records can be found here. Finding aids for each collection include a description of records and instructions for use. Mundelein College collections can be searched separately here. Most of the WLA collections can also be found in the Libraries' catalog.

About the Women and Leadership Archives

Established in 1994, the Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) collects, preserves and makes available permanently valuable records of women and women’s organizations, which document women’s lives, roles, and contributions. The WLA grew out of the need to care for the records of Mundelein College and expanded to collect papers of women leaders and women’s organizations. Collection strengths include the subject areas of activism and women’s issues; authors; education; environmental issues; public service; social justice; women religious; and the fine, performance, and visual arts.

Contact Us

WLA general phone: 773.508.8837

WLA website: luc.edu/wla


Nancy Freeman

Director, Women and Leadership Archives

nfreeman1@luc.edu

773.508.8432


Laura Berfield

WLA Assistant Archivist

lberfield@luc.edu

773.508.8804