Steve Stoute: Hip-Hop's Influence in America
Chicago Ideas Week Panel: How has hip-hop influenced mainstream pop culture? Hear how former music executive Steve Stoute, became the CEO of ad agency Translation, and, how he broke down cultural boundaries by bringing the untapped resource of hip-hop into the world of marketing.
TEDx Talks: Why Hip Hop is World Culture | Ian Lawrence
TEDx Talks: Hip hop, grit, and academic success: Bettina Love at TEDxUGA
This impassioned talk explains how students who identify with Hip Hop culture have been ignored or deemed deficient in schools because of mainstream misconceptions associated with Hip Hop culture. Through Hip Hop, these students embody the characteristics of grit, social and emotional intelligence, and the act improvisation- all of which are proven to be predictors for academic success. So where is the break down between formalized education and the potential for success for these students? Dr. Love argues that ignoring students' culture in the classroom is all but an oversight; it's discrimination and injustice that plays out in our culture in very dangerous ways.
Hip Hop
Hip hop music, also known as rap music, is a genre of popular music that came out of the South Bronx, New York, and was developed by African Americans and Latino Americans in the 1970s. The intention of this guide is to provide an overview of resources for people interested in research/learning about Hip Hop.
#HipHopEd: the Compilation on Hip-Hop Education by
The first volume of #HipHopEd: The Compilation on Hip-hop Education serves as a collection of work from scholars, practitioners and students alike who share their research and experiences as it relates to the use of hip-hop in educational spaces.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .A14 2018ISBN: 9789004371866Publication Date: 2018-03-29
The 'Hood Comes First by
The 'Hood Comes First looks at the increasingly specific emphasis on real neighborhoods and streets in rap music and hip hop culture as an urgent response to the cultural and geographical ghettoization of black urban communities. Examining rap music, along with ancillary hip hop media including radio, music videos, rap press and the cinematic 'hood genre, Murray Forman analyzes hip hop culture's varying articulations of the terms "ghetto," "inner-city," and "the 'hood," and how these spaces, both real and imaginary, are used to define individual and collective identity.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0819563978Publication Date: 2002-04-30
All about the Beat by
The bestselling commentator, hailed for his frank and fearless arguments on race, imparts a scathing look at the hypocrisy of hip-hop'and why its popularity proves that black America must overhaul its politics. One of the most outspoken voices in America's cultural dialogues, John McWhorter can always be counted on to provide provocative viewpoints steeped in scholarly savvy.
Call Number: E185.615 .M3538 2008ISBN: 9781592403745Publication Date: 2008-06-19
Global linguistic flows : hip hop cultures, youth identities, and the politics of language by
Located at the intersection of sociolinguistics and Hip Hop Studies, this cutting-edge book moves around the world – spanning Africa, Asia, Australia, the Americas and the European Union – to explore Hip Hop cultures, youth identities, the politics of language, and the simultaneous processes of globalization and localization. Focusing closely on language, these scholars of sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, cultural studies, and critical pedagogies offer linguistic insights to the growing scholarship on Hip Hop Culture, while reorienting their respective fields by paying closer attention to processes of globalization and localization.
Call Number: HM621 .G578 2009ISBN: 0805862838Publication Date: 2008-09-04
Hip-Hop Culture in College Students' Lives by
"College campuses have become rich sites of hip-hop culture and knowledge production. Despite the attention that campus personnel and researchers have paid to student life, the field of higher education has often misunderstood the ways that hip-hop culture exists in college students' lives. Based upon in-depth interviews, observations of underground hip-hop spaces, and the author's own active roles in hop-hop communities, this book provides a rich portrait of how college students who create hip-hop--both male and female, and of multiple ethnicities--embody its principles and aesthetics on campuses across the United States
Call Number: LC191.94 .P47 2012ISBN: 9780415889704Publication Date: 2011-10-03
Hip Hop Genius by
Many educators already know that hip-hop can be a powerful tool for engaging students. But can hip-hop save our schools? In Hip Hop Genius, Sam Seidel introduces an iteration of hip-hop education that goes far beyond the usual approach of studying rap music as classroom content and looks instead at deeply honoring the knowledge of urban students
Call Number: LD7501 .S9246 S45 2011ISBN: 9781610480260Publication Date: 2011-08-22I Am Hip-Hop: Conversations on the Music and Culture by Author Andrew J. Rausch interviewed 24 individuals whose creative expressions are intimately associated with the world of hip-hop music and culture. Those interviewed include emcees, DJs, producers, graffiti artists, poets, and journalists. Topics of these conversations cover the careers of each of these people and their contributions/affiliations with hip-hop, as well as their views on different trends within the music.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1283213869Publication Date: 2011-08-09
That's the Joint! by
That's the Joint: The Hip-Hop Studies Reader brings together the best-known and most influential writings on rap and hip-hop from its beginnings to today, spanning nearly 25 years of scholarship, criticism, and journalism.
Call Number: ML3531 .T43 2004ISBN: 0415969182Publication Date: 2004-09-18
Therapeutic Uses of Rap and Hip-Hop by
In perceiving all rap and Hip-Hop music as violent, misogynistic, and sexually charged, are we denying the way in which it is attentive to the lived experiences, both positive and negative, of many therapy clients? This question is explored in great depth in this anthology, the first to examine the use of this musical genre in the therapeutic context.
Call Number: ML3920 .T54 2012ISBN: 9780415884730Publication Date: 2011-09-02
Thug Life by
Hip-hop has come a long way from its origins in the Bronx in the 1970s, when rapping and DJing were just part of a lively, decidedly local scene that also venerated b-boying and graffiti. Now hip-hop is a global phenomenon and, in the United States, a massively successful corporate enterprise predominantly controlled and consumed by whites while the most prominent performers are black. How does this shift in racial dynamics affect our understanding of contemporary hip-hop, especially when the music perpetuates stereotypes of black men?
Call Number: ML3918 .R37 J44 2011 & Online AccessISBN: 9780226395845Publication Date: 2011-01-30
Something from Nothing: The Art of Rap (Tracing the Rise and Global Influence of Hip-Hop) by
Ice-T travels coast to coast interviewing rap performers such as Q-Tip, Common and Kanye West to pay tribute to the musical art form.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2012
Hip Hop: Beyond Beats and Rhymes by
Hip-Hop: Beyond Beats & Rhymes provides a riveting examination of manhood, sexism, and homophobia in hip-hop culture. Director Byron Hurt, former star college quarterback, long-time hip-hop fan, and gender violence prevention educator, conceived the documentary as a "loving critique" of a number of disturbing trends in the world of rap music. He pays tribute to hip-hop while challenging the rap music industry to take responsibility for glamorising destructive, deeply conservative stereotypes of manhood.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2006
Stretch and Bobbito: Hip-Hop Radio That Changed Lives by
During the 1990s, Stretch and Bobbito introduced the world to an unsigned Nas, Biggie, Wu-Tang, and Big Pun as well as an unknown Jay-Z, Eminem, and the Fugees. The total record sales for all the artists that premiered on their radio show exceed 300 million. The late night program had a cult following in the art/fashion world and prison population as well.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2015
Say My Name: Young Female Hip Hop and R&B Artists by
In a hip hop and R&B world dominated by men and noted for misogyny, the unstoppable female lyricists of SAY MY NAME speak candidly about class, race, and gender in pursuing their passions as female MCs. This worldwide documentary takes viewers on a vibrant tour of urban culture and musical movement, from hip hop's birthplace in the Bronx, to grime on London's Eastside, to Philly, Detroit, Chicago, Atlanta, and L.A., and points in between.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2009
5 Sides of a Coin by
Exploding the myth that Hip-Hop is merely 'rap music,' "5 Sides of a Coin" is an overview of the worldwide phenomenon of Hip-Hop. Today Hip-Hop is a multi-billion dollar industry and a socially relevant culture. "5 Sides of a Coin" features exclusive interviews and footage of Hip-Hop's pioneers, insiders, critics and fans, including Afrika Bambaataa, Grandmaster Flash, Jazzy Jay, Gil Scott-Heron, RunDMC, Jurassic 5, De La Soul, Dilated Peoples, Beat Junkies, Q-Bert, Mix Master Mike, The Pharcyde, DJ Spooky, The Stereo MC's and many, many more Hip-Hop artists interviewed around the world. Their voices define the culture in their own words: the good, the bad and the flossy. Embraced by a diverse cross-section of youth, Hip-Hop is a powerful force, one that transcends its commercial trappings and controversies, that stands alone as the number one youth movement in the world.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2015
Nobody Knows My Name: Women and Hip Hop by
This is a story of women who are connected by their love for hip-hop music. Despite the fact that these talented female artists exist within a culture that revolves around self-expression, the subjects of Rachel Raimist's documentary must struggle to be heard.
Through the candid study of these women, NOBODY KNOWS MY NAME explores a fascinating and diverse feminist community, which yearns to find a place in a male-dominated subculture that is, in itself, marginalized. Ultimately, Raimist succeeds in empowering these self-actualized women by giving them the voice for which they struggle.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 1999
Blacking Up: Hip-Hop's Remix of Race And Identity by
The ambitious and hard-hitting documentary BLACKING UP looks at the popularity of hip-hop among America's white youth. It asks whether white identification is rooted in admiration and a desire to transcend race or if it is merely a new chapter in the long continuum of stereotyping, mimicry and cultural appropriation? Does it reflect a new face of racial understanding in white America or does it reinforce an ugly history?
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2014
- African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window Full-text entries from encyclopedias and handbooks covering African American and African history and culture. Limited to three simultaneous users.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Scholarly articles, periodicals, and primary sources related to African Studies and the African Diaspora. Coverage: 1827 - 2003
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Full-text non-fiction writings by major American black leaders. Includes letters, speeches, essays, etc.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Articles on communication and mass media from scholarly journals. Coverage: 1900 - present.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window Index of abstracts, ebooks, and full-text articles related to film, television, and media. Coverage: 1976 - present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Index of some-full text articles and abstracts related to gender studies, including women's studies, feminism, masculine studies, masculinity studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ, LGBTQA, and sexuality.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
- The Black Scholar The Black Scholar, the third-oldest journal of Black culture and political thought in the United States, was founded in 1969 near San Francisco, California, by Robert Chrisman, Nathan Hare, and Allan Ross. It is arguably the most influential journal of Black Studies and central to the very emergence of that field.
- Ethnic and Racial Studies Ethnic and Racial Studies is a peer-reviewed social science academic journal that publishes scholarly articles and book reviews on anthropology, cultural studies, ethnicity and race, and sociology.
- Journal of Black Studies Journal of Black Studies is a bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the fields of social sciences and ethnic studies concerning African-American culture.
- Journal of Popular Culture The Journal of Popular Culture (TJPC) is a peer-reviewed journal and the official publication of the Popular Culture Association. The popular culture movement was founded on the principle that the perspectives and experiences of common folk offer compelling insights into the social world.
- Popular Music Popular Music is an international multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of the subject - from the formation of social group identities through popular music, to the workings of the global music industry, to how particular pieces of music are put together.
- Race, Gender & Class Race, Gender & Class publishes articles of 15-25 pages, notes of 5-10 pages, review essays on books or films, autobiographies, essays, data sets, theories, stories, field work studies, and letters to the journal promoting interdisciplinary and multicultural studies focusing on race, gender and class intersection issues in society.
- Social Identities The journal is especially concerned to address these issues in the context of the transforming political economies and cultures of postmodern and postcolonial conditions. Social Identities is intended as a forum for contesting ideas and debates concerning the formations of, and transformations in, socially significant identities, their attendant forms of material exclusion and power, as well as the political and cultural possibilities opened up by these identifications.
- Urban Education Urban Education (UEX) publishes papers addressing urban issues related to those from birth through graduate school, from both a U.S. and an international perspective. For nearly 50 years, this ground-breaking publication has provided thought-provoking commentary on key issues from gender-balanced and racially diverse perspectives.
- Western Journal of Black Studies Publishes articles that report original investigations & contribute new knowledge & understanding to the field of Black/African American studies.
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window Full-text content from African American newspapers published nationwide. Coverage: 1827 - 1998.
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window Full-text content from African American magazines and journals published nationwide. Coverage: 1825 - 1995.
- Alternative Press Index 1991-Present This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index of alternative sources, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering international and interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage: 1991-present.
- America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window Full-text magazines covering popular news and culture, including Fortune, People, Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, and Parenting. Coverage 1991-present.
- Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, radicalism, and anti-lynching legislation. Coverage: 1909-2010.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text historical newspaper articles from the Chicago Tribune (1905 - 1975), the New York Times (1850 - 2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides full text of television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC and NPR.
- New York Times Website This link opens in a new window Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Coverage: 1980 - present.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Full-text news articles covering business, economics, and finances. Coverage: 1984 - present. Users must register to access resource. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: WSJ.com/LUC before attempting to access this resource.
- Cornell Hip Hop Collection Cornell’s Hip Hop Collection (HHC) is a research archive of original artifacts, images, and sound recordings documenting the birth and spread of Hip Hop culture. The mission of the Collection is to collect and make accessible the historical documents of Hip Hop culture and to ensure their preservation for current and future generations. The Collection currently features more than 15,000 items and is growing.
- HIP HOP AND PUNK FEMINISMS HIP HOP AND PUNK FEMINISMS is a working group of faculty at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, exploring the entanglements of theory, genealogy, and performance for independent art making and radical advocacy.
- The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute's mission is to facilitate and encourage the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture and responsible leadership through Hiphop. We are uncompromising in our commitment to build and support intellectually challenging and innovative scholarship that both reflects the rigor and achievement of performance in Hiphop as well as transforms our thinking and our lives. Toward these goals, our website: hiphoparchive.org provides information about all of our activities and projects and serves as a resource for those interested in knowing, developing, building, maintaining and representing Hiphop.
- HIPHOPLibguide The Hip Hop LibGuide is a scholarly comprehensive online resource about Hip Hop Information Literacy and the artform in general.
- Houston Hip Hop Research Collection The Houston Hip Hop Research Collection documents the unique music and culture of Houston hip hop. Among its riches are approximately 1500 vinyl records owned by DJ Screw, originator of the “chopped and screwed” genre. The personal and business papers of other musical and visual artists are also represented. This collection captures the creativity and drive of the musicians, producers, visual artists, and entrepreneurs who built an independent music scene in this city which has influenced others around the world.
- NOLA Hiphop and Bounce Archive For more than three decades now, hiphop and bounce music traditions in New Orleans have been central outlets for creativity, celebration, social critique, community gathering, and political and expressive art in the city. From the groundbreaking, internationally recognized Cash Money and No Limit record labels to the strong currents of underground hiphop and street rap that sustain the tradition, New Orleans has been a recognized hiphop locale since the 1990s. Meanwhile, the indigenous New Orleans bounce music tradition, born at block parties, dance clubs, and other community gatherings, had until very recently been little heard outside the city. Since Hurricane Katrina, bounce has become a force of its own, gaining massive popularity and influence internationally via artists like Big Freedia, Katey Red and Nicky da B (1990-2014), though its roots go back well over two decades.
- TUPAC AMARU SHAKUR COLLECTION CONFERENCE: HIP HOP EDUCATION & EXPANDING THE ARCHIVAL IMAGINATION The Archives Research Center of AUC Woodruff Library houses the Tupac Amaru Shakur Collection, a rich resource for understanding the life and work of one of hip-hop's brightest stars. The Collection was deposited in the Archives in 2009, through a partnership with the Tupac Amaru Shakur Foundation and Afeni Shakur-Davis, mother of Tupac Shakur, to make his papers available to scholars.
- Umbra: Search African American History Umbra: Search African American History is a is a free digital platform and widget that brings together content documenting African American history and culture in order to enable the creation of new works—research projects, scholarship, curricula, art of all kinds—that illuminate parts of our history that have not been enough broadly accessible.
Holy Hip Hop in the City of Angels by
In the 1990s, Los Angeles was home to numerous radical social and environmental eruptions. In the face of several major earthquakes and floods, riots and economic insecurity, police brutality and mass incarceration, some young black Angelenos turned to holy hip hop—a movement merging Christianity and hip hop culture—to “save” themselves and the city. Converting street corners to open-air churches and gangsta rap beats into anthems of praise, holy hip hoppers used gospel rap to navigate complicated social and spiritual realities and to transform the Southland’s fractured terrains into musical Zions. Armed with beats, rhymes, and bibles, they journeyed through black Lutheran congregations, prison ministries, African churches, reggae dancehalls, hip hop clubs, Nation of Islam meetings, and Black Lives Matter marches. Zanfagna’s fascinating ethnography provides a contemporary and unique view of black LA, offering a much-needed perspective on how music and religion intertwine in people’s everyday experiences.
ISBN: 9780520296206Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Know What I Mean? by
Whether along race, class, or generational lines, hip-hop music has been a source of controversy since the beats got too big and the voices too loud for the block parties that spawned them. America has condemned and commended this music and the culture that inspires it. Dubbed “the Hip-Hop Intellectual” by critics and fans for his pioneering explorations of rap music in the academy and beyond, Michael Eric Dyson tackles the most compelling and controversial dimensions of hip-hop culture.
ISBN: 9780465017164Publication Date: 2007-07-10
Negro Soy Yo by
In Negro Soy Yo Marc D. Perry explores Cuba’s hip hop movement as a window into the racial complexities of the island’s ongoing transition from revolutionary socialism toward free-market capitalism. Centering on the music and lives of black-identified raperos (rappers), Perry examines the ways these young artists craft notions of black Cuban identity and racial citizenship, along with calls for racial justice, at the fraught confluence of growing Afro-Cuban marginalization and long held perceptions of Cuba as a non-racial nation.
ISBN: 9780822359852Publication Date: 2015-12-25
Parodies of Ownership - Hip-Hop Aesthetics and Intellectual Property Law by
What is the relationship between hip-hop and African American culture in the post--Civil Rights era? Does hip-hop share a criticism of American culture or stand as an isolated and unique phenomenon? How have African American texts responded to the increasing role intellectual property law plays in regulating images, sounds, words, and logos? Parodies of Ownership examines how contemporary African American writers, artists, and musicians have developed an artistic form that Schur terms ""hip-hop aesthetics.""
ISBN: 9780472050604Publication Date: 2009-06-04
Race Music by
This powerful book covers the vast and various terrain of African American music, from bebop to hip-hop. Guthrie P. Ramsey, Jr., begins with an absorbing account of his own musical experiences with family and friends on the South Side of Chicago, evoking Sunday-morning worship services, family gatherings with food and dancing, and jam sessions at local nightclubs. This lays the foundation for a brilliant discussion of how musical meaning emerges in the private and communal realms of lived experience and how African American music has shaped and reflected identities in the black community. Deeply informed by Ramsey's experience as an accomplished musician, a sophisticated cultural theorist, and an enthusiast brought up in the community he discusses, Race Music explores the global influence and popularity of African American music, its social relevance, and key questions regarding its interpretation and criticism.
ISBN: 0520243331Publication Date: 2004-11-22
TEDx Talks: Hip-Hop & Shakespeare? Akala at TEDxAldeburgh
Akala demonstrates and explores the connections between Shakespeare and Hip-Hop, and the wider cultural debate around language and its power.
TEDx Talks: Heroes and Villains: Is hip-hop a cancer or a cure?
When we prostitute things like misogyny and violence for the sake of entertainment, we perpetuate villainous ideas as heroic. Hip hop is one of our generation's perpetrators but is also the art form that can turn this ship around.