Informational Texts Navigation
Instructional Strategies
35 Strategies for Guiding Readers Through Informational Texts by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .M8216 2010
Great Group Games for Kids: 150 Meaningful Activities for Any Setting by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV1203 .R336 2010
How Picturebooks Work by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1009.A1 N56 2006
How to Motivate Reluctant Learners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1065 .J24 2011Also available online - Click here
Linking Assessment to Instruction in Multi-Tiered Models: a teacher's guide to selecting reading, writing, and mathematics interventions by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1029.R4 H65 2013
Literacy Is Not Enough: 21st-century fluencies for the digital age by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB2822 .C76 2011
Picturebooks: representation and narration by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1009.A1 P515 2014
Picture-Perfect Science Lessons: using children's books to guide inquiry, 3-6 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1585 .A58 2010
Reading to Learn in the Content Areas by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .R53 2012
Issues
Abortion by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ767 .A152 2010
Animal Testing: lifesaving research vs. animal welfare by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV4915 .S47 2015
Black Lives Matter by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.86 .E29 2016
Critical Perspectives on Climate Change by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC903.15 .C75 2017
Critical Perspectives on Gender Identity by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ77.9 .C75 2017
Critical Perspectives on Immigrants and Refugees by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JV6455 .C76 2017
Critical Perspectives on Legalizing Marijuana by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV5825 .C746 2017
Critical Perspectives on the Minimum Wage by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD4918 .C75 2017
Critical Perspectives on the Viability of Human Life on Other Planets by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL795.7 .C75 2017
Discrimination by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JC599 .U5 D56 2008
Endangered Species by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH75 .E665 2008
The Environment by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GE105 .E5 2009
Feminism by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ1155 .F44 2008
Feminism: reinventing the f-word by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ1190 .H54 2016
Fracking by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TN871.255 .H85 2017
Gangs by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV6439 .U5 G3586 2009
Genetic Engineering by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH442 .G446 2009
Global Warming by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC981.8 .G56 G578 2010
Gun Control by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KF3942 .H3 G86 2007
Health by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RA445 .H335 2009
Homosexuality by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ76.25 .H67375 2009
Immigration by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JV6465 .I4715 2009
Legalizing Marijuana by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KF3891.M2 G65 2017
Parental Guidance Ratings by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) P96 .R362 U6 2013
Punishing Bullies: zero tolerance vs. working together by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) BF637.B85 O95 2015
Refugees (Critical World Issues) by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JV6346 .M55 2017
Reproductive Rights: Who Decides? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ766 .W57 2016
The Second Amendment: The Right to Bear Arms by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KF3941 .G47 2011
Social Media: like it or leave it by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HM1206 .R694 2015
Teen Incarceration: from cell bars to ankle bracelets by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (HV9069 .J65 2017
Thinking Critically: Stem cell research by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH588.S83 D83 2014
True Stories of Teen Refugees by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV640 .H43 2018
Undocumented Immigration and Homeland Security by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JV6450 .S344 2017
Universal Health Care by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RA412.2 .U55 2010
What Are the Limits of Organ Transplants? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RD120.76 .C55 2012
Scientists in the Field - Middle School Level
Amazon Adventure: how tiny fish are saving the world's largest rainforest by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH112 .M67 2017
Anthropologist: Scientist of the People by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F2679.2 .G9 B38 2001- The Bat Scientists byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .C5 C356 2010
- The Bug Scientists byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL467.2 .J33 2002
The Call of the Osprey by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696.F36 P379 2015
Chasing Cheetahs: the race to save Africa's fastest cats by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C23 M657 2014
Crow Smarts: inside the brain of the world's brightest bird by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696.P2367 T87 2016
Digging for bird-dinosaurs : an expedition to MadagascarCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QE862 .D5 B525 2000- Diving to a Deep Sea Volcano byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QE521.3 .M26 2006
The Dolphins of Shark Bay by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C432 T87 2013
The Elephant Scientist by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .P98 O257 2011
Eruption!: volcanoes and the science of saving lives by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QE521.3 .R86 2013- Extreme Scientists: Exploring nature's mysteries from perilous places byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) Q147 .J33 2009
- The Frog Scientist byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL668 .E2 T875 2009
Gorilla Doctors: Saving endangered great apes by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SF997.5 .G65 T87 2005
The Great White Shark Scientist by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH91.3 .S575 2016- Hidden Worlds : Looking through a scientist's microscope byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QH278 .K73 2001
The Hive Detectives: Chronicle of a honey bee catastrophe by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SF538.5 .C65 B87 2010
The Hyena Scientist by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C24 M66 2018
Impact!: asteroids and the science of saving the world by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB651 .R87 2017- Kakapo Rescue: Saving the world's strangest parrot byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL696 .P7 M79 2010
Life on Surtsey: Iceland's upstart island by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH166 .B87 2017- Looking for Life in the Universe: The search for extraterrestrial intelligence byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QB54 .J22 2002
The Manatee Scientists: saving vulnerable species by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .S63 L68 2011
The Mission to Pluto: the first visit to an ice dwarf and the Kuiper belt by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB701 .C37 2016
The Next Wave: the quest to harness the power of the oceans by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TC147 .R87 2014
The Octopus Scientists: Exploring the Mind of a Mollusk by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL430.3.O2 M65 2015- Once a Wolf: How wildlife biologists fought to bring back the gray wolf byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .C22 S836 1999
The Polar Bear Scientists by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .C27 L68 2012- The Prairie Builders: Reconstructing America's lost grasslands byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SB434.3 .C65 2005
Project Seahorse by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL638 .S9 T87 2010- Project UltraSwan byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL696 .A52 O82 2002
- Quest for the Tree Kangaroo: An expedition to the cloud forest of New Guinea byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .M35 M66 2006
Saving the ghost of the mountain : An expedition among snow leopards in Mongolia by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)QL737 .C23 M6624 2009
Sea Turtle Scientist by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL666.C536 S948 2014- Secrets of Sound: Studying the calls and songs of whales, elephants, and birds byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)QH510.5 .S28 2002
- The Snake Scientist byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL666 .O636 M65 1999
Stronger Than Steel: spider silk DNA and the quest for better bulletproof vests, sutures, and parachute rope by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL458.42 .T48 H46 2013
The Tapir Scientist: Saving South America's Largest Mammal by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737 .U64 M66 2013
The Tarantula Scientist by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL458.42 .T5 M66 2004- Tracking Trash: Flotsam, jetsam, and the science of ocean motion byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GC232 .B87 2007
Whaling Season: A year in the life of an arctic whale scientist by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .C423 L68 2009- The Wildlife Detectives: How forensic scientists fight crimes against nature byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) HV7959 .K35 2000
- The Woods Scientist byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL112 .S95 2002
Inspiration/Motivation
A Gift of Days: the greatest words to live by by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) NE1300.6 .A43 A4 2009
Biographical Texts
The Adventures of Mark Twain by Huckleberry Finn by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS1331 .B96 2011
African American Scientists and Inventors by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .D29 2013
Alex Ko: from Iowa to Broadway, my Billy Elliot story by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV1785 .K58 A3 2013
Alfred Blalock, Helen Taussig, and Vivien Thomas: Mending Children's Hearts by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) RD598 .Y68 2012
Alvin Ailey: Celebrating African-American Culture by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV1785 .A38 C78 2004
Americans Who Tell the Truth by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) CT214 .S48 2005
Barack by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E901.1 .O23 W57 2008
Basketball Belles: How Two Teams and One Scrappy Player Put Women's Hoops on the Map by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV884 .C6 M34 2011
Booker T. Washington and Education by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .W4 W85 2008
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating currents of electricity and hope by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TJ820 .K36 2009
The Brave Escape of Edith Wharton by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3545 .H16 Z943 2010
The Bravest Woman in America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) VK1140 .L48 M67 2011
Breakthrough!: how three people saved "blue babies" and changed medicine forever by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RD27.35.T46 M87 2015
Can I See Your I. D.?: true stories of false identities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) CT9980 .B34 2011
Fifty Cents and a Dream: young Booker T. Washington by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97 .W4 A85 2012
Florence Nightingale by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RT37.N5 D46 2014
Florence Nightingale: the courageous life of the legendary nurse by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RT37.N5 R44 2017
Fort Mosé: and the story of the man who built the first free black settlement in colonial America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F319 .F734 T87 2010
Franklin and Winston: A Christmas that changed the world by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) D753 .W59 2010
Gwendolyn Brooks: Poet from Chicago by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3503 .R7244 Z85 2003
Hammerin' Hank Greenberg: baseball pioneer by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV865 .G68 S66 2011
A Home for Mr. Emerson by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS1631 .K37 2014
I Am Malala: how one girl stood up for education and changed the world by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LC2330 .Y68 2014
I Am Malala: the girl who stood up for education and was shot by the Taliban by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LC2330 .Y69 2013
Ida M. Tarbell: the woman who challenged big business--and won! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN4874.T23 M33 2014
I. M. Pei: Architect of Time, Place and Purpose by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) NA737 .P365 R83 2011
The Jerrie Mock Story: the first woman to fly solo around the world by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL721.M58 P56 2016
Jim Thorpe, Original All-American by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV697 .T5 B77 2006
Jim Thorpe's Bright Path by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV697 .T5 B78 2004
John Lewis in the Lead: A Story of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E840.8 .L43 H37 2006
Kennedy Through the Lens: How Photography and Television Revealed and Shaped an Extraordinary Leader by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E842 .Z9 S27 2011
Lincoln and Douglass: An American friendship by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E457.905 .G56 2008
Lincoln's Flying Spies: Thaddeus Lowe and the Civil War Balloon Corps by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E492.7 .J37 2010- Lives of the presidents : fame, shame, and what the neighbors thought byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E176.1 .K78 2011
Lives of the Scientists: experiments, explosions (and what the neighbors thought) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .K698 2013
Lost Boy: The Story of the Man who Created Peter Pan by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PR4076 .Y65 2010
Manfish: a story of Jacques Cousteau by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GC30 .C68 B47 2008
The Many Faces of George Washington: Remaking a Presidential Icon by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E312.66 .M13 2011
Me, Frida by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .N869 Me 2010
Michelle by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E909 .O24 H66 2009
Michelle Obama: First Lady by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E909 .O24 M39 2011
Mrs. Harkness and the Panda by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL737 .C27 P648 2012
Music Was It: Young Leonard Bernstein by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) ML3930 .B48 R83 2011
Nelson Mandela by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DT1974 .N43 2013
Nelson Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) DT1949 .M35 A3 2009
Nelson Mandela: South African revolutionary by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DT1974 .G67 2015
Obama: The Historic Journey by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E908 .A26 2009
Pablo Neruda: poet of the people by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PQ8097 .N4 Z593 2011
Portraits of Hispanic American Heroes by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E184.S75 H486 2014
The Raucous Royals: test your royal wits : crack codes, solve mysteries, and deduce which royal rumors are true by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) D107 .B38 2008
Roberto Clemente: Baseball's Humanitarian Hero by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV865 .C45 M37 2005
Sacagawea by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F592.7 .S123 E73 2003
Sally Ride: life on a mission by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL789.85.R53 M33 2014
She Loved Baseball: The Effa Manley Story by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV865 .M325 V47 2010
Sojourner Truth: From Slave to Activist for Freedom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .T8 B88 2003
Stand tall, Abe Lincoln by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E457.905 .S68 2008
Strange Creatures: The Story of Walter Rothschild and His Museum by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL31 .R67 J83 2011
Steve Jobs: the man who thought different : a biography by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA76.2 .J63 B58 2012
Stolen into Slavery: The True Story of Solomon Northup by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E444 .N87 F73 2012- Temple Grandin : how the girl who loved cows embraced autism and changed the world byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SF33 .G67 M66 2012
Theodore by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E757 .K267 2006
Tom Thumb: The Remarkable True Story of a Man in Miniature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GN69.3 .S85 2011
Uh Huh!: The Story of Ray Charles by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) ML420 .C46 D84 2005
Vincent and Theo: the Van Gogh brothers by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ND653.G7 H39 2017
The Voice That Challenged a Nation: Marian Anderson and the struggle for equal rights by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) ML3930 .A5 F73 2004
The Watcher: Jane Goodall's life with the chimps by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QL31 .G58 W56 2011
A Woman for President: The Story of Victoria Woodhull by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) HQ1413 .W66 K78 2004
A Woman in the House (and Senate): how women came to the United States Congress, broke down barriers, and changed the country by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ1236.5.U6 C667 2014
Women Aviators: 26 stories of pioneer flights, daring missions, and record-setting journeys by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL539 .G53 2013
Women of the Frontier: 16 tales of trailblazing homesteaders, entrepreneurs, and rabble-rousers by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) CT3262.W37 M55 2013
Zora!: the life of Zora Neale Hurston by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3515 .U789 Z69 2012
Informational Texts
Adaptation and Survival by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH546 .S64 2012
Artificial Intelligence: building smarter machines by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q335.4 .M387 2018
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) KF4749 .C58 2004
The Creek by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E99.C9 R64 2017
Decoding our DNA : Craig Venter vs. the Human Genome Project by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH445.2 .B35 2013
Downloading and Online Shopping Safety and Privacy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TK5105.875.I57 S84 2014
Equality and Diversity by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HM821 .O43 2017
Faces from the Past: forgotten people of North America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GN69.8 .D44 2012
Global Warming by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC981.8.G56 L39 2014
Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans During World War II by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D769.8 .A6 S26 2013
Pope Francis: Catholic spiritual leader by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) BX1378.7 .W65 2015
Your Skeletal System by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QM101 .A76 2013
