Skip to Main Content

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library: Folktales

This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the School of Education find resources related to curriculum development.

Folktales - Navigation

Contents

Instructional Strategies

Compilations and General Folk Tales

Chicken Licken/Chicken Little Adaptations

African Folktales

American Folktales

Australian Folktales

Canadian Folktales

Caribbean Folktales

Central Asian/Middle Eastern Folktales

East Asian Folktales

European Folktales

Latin American Folktales

Native American Folktales

Russian Folktales

South Asian Folktales

Southeast Asian Folktales

South American Folktales

Chicken Licken/Chicken Little Adaptations

Chicken Little by Ed Emberley (Illustrator); Rebecca Emberley
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .E5725 Ch 2009
Chicken Little by Steven Kellogg (Illustrator, Retold by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .K292 Ch 1985
La Gallinita de la Pradera by Jackie Mims Hopkins; Henry Cole (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ74.1 .H68 2015
Henny Penny by Paul Galdone (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8 .C43 H51 1968
Henny Penny by H. Werner Zimmermann
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .C433 1989

African Folktales

Anansi and the Sky Kingdom by Bobby Norfolk; Sherry Norfolk; Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.N766 Anq 2009
Anansi and the Tug O' War by Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator); Sherry Norfolk (As told by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.N766 Anc 2007
Anansi does the impossible! : an Ashanti tale by Verna Aardema
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .A213 Al 1997
Anansi Goes to Lunch by Bobby Norfolk; Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator); Sherry Norfolk
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.N766 Ang 2007
Anansi the Spider: a tale from the Ashanti by Gerald McDermott (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .M159 An 1986
The Clever Monkey: a folktale from West Africa by Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator); Rob Cleveland
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.C5912 Cle 2006
The Clever Monkey Rides Again: a folktale from West Africa by Tom Wrenn (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.C5912 Clh 2007
Favorite African Folktales by Nelson Mandela
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .F237 2004
The Magic Tree: a tale from the Congo by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .M159 M3 1973
The Matatu by Eric Walters; Eva Campbell (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W17129 Mat 2012
Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters: an African tale by John Steptoe
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8 .S585 Mu 1987
Nelson Mandela's Favorite African Folktales
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .N28 2007
Once upon a Time in Ghana. Traditional Ewe Stories Retold in English by Anna Cottrell; Agbotadua Togbi Kumassah
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GR351.62.E83 C68 2013
Ostrich and Lark by Marilyn Nelson; San Artists of the Kuru Art Project in Botswana (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .N43557 Os 2012
Our Story Magic by Gcina Mhlophe
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 M58 Ou 2006
Sungura and Leopard: a Swahili trickster tale by Barbara Knutson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .K728 Su 1993
Who's in Rabbit's House?: a Masai tale by Verna Aardema
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .A213 Wf 1977
Zomo the Rabbit: a trickster tale from West Africa by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .M159 Zo 1992

Central Asian/Middle Eastern Folktales

A Donkey Reads: Adapted from a Turkish Folktale by Muriel Mandell (Adapted by); Andre Letria (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .M29765 Don 2011
Elephant in the Dark: based on a poem by Mina Javaherbin; Jalal al-Din Rumi; Eugene Yelchin (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.2.J38 El 2015
Joha Makes a Wish: A Middle Eastern tale by adapted by Eric A. Kimmel
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .K5648 Jo 2010
Nasreddine by Odile Weulersse; Rebecca Dautremer (Illustrator); Kathleen Merz
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W5355 Nas 2013
Tiger and Turtle by James Rumford
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .R8878 Tig 2010
The Well of Truth: a folktale from Egypt by Martha Hamilton; Mitch Weiss; Tom Wrenn (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.H1535 Wel 2009

East Asian Folktales

The Archer and the Sun: a folktale from China by Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator); Rob Cleveland
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.C5912 Ar 2008
The Magic Pot by Pleasant DeSpain; Tom Wrenn (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.D453 Mag 2007

South Asian Folktales

Cloud Tea Monkeys by Mal Peet; Elspeth Graham; Juan Wijngaard (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .P3564 Clo 2010
The Drum: a folktale from India by Tom Wrenn (Illustrator); Rob Cleveland
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.C5912 Dr 2006
Grandma and the Great Gourd: a Bengali folktale by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni; Susy Pilgrim Waters (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.D625 Gr 2013
Monkey: a trickster tale from India by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .M159 Mon 2011
Sita's Ramayana by Samhita Arni; Moyna Chitrakar (Illustrator); Valmiki
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)PZ7.7 .A76 Sit 2011

Southeast Asian Folktales

The Girl Who Wore Too Much: A Folktale from Thailand by Retold by Margaret Read MacDonald with Thai text by Supaporn Vathanaprida
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .M15924 Gi 1998
Kao and the Golden Fish: A Folktale from Thailand by As remembered by Wilai Punpattanakul-Crouch retold by Cheryl Hamada
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .H1485 Kao 1993
How Tiger Got His Stripes by Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator); Rob Cleveland (As told by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.C5912 How 2006

European Folktales

The Bremen Town Musicians and other animal tales from Grimm by Doris Orgel; Bert Kitchen (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .O59 Br 2004
Eric Carle's Treasury of Classic Stories for Children by Aesop, Hans Christian Andersen, and the Brothers Grimm by Eric Carle; Wilhelm K. Grimm; Hans Christian Andersen (Based on a story by); Jacob Grimm (Based on a story by); Aesop (Based on a story by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8 .C2214 Es 1988
Never Say a Mean Word Again: a tale from Medieval Spain by Jacqueline Jules; Durga Yael Bernhard (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.J92947 Nev 2014
The Ogre Bully by A. B. Hoffmire (As told by, Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.H7212 Ogr 2007
The Pied Piper of Hamelin by retold and illustrated by Tony Ross
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .R693 P5 1978
Tales Our Abuelitas Told: a Hispanic folktale collection by Alma Flor Ada; F. Isabel Campoy; Felipe Davalos (Illustrator); Susan Guevara (Illustrator); Leyla Torres (Illustrator); Vivi Escriva (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .A218 An 2006

Instructional Strategies

Happily Ever After: sharing folk literature with elementary and middle school students by Terrell A. Young
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1583.8 .H36 2004
ISBN: 0872075109
Plays from Favorite Folk Tales : 25 one-act dramatizations of stories children love by Sylvia E. Kamerman
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PN6120 .O5 P5 1987
Through the Schoolhouse Door: folklore, community, curriculum by Paddy Bowman (Editor); Lynne Hamer (Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1583.8 .T47 2011

Also available online - Click here

Compilations and General Folk Tales

The Barefoot Book of Father and Son Tales by Josephine Evetts-Secker; Helen Cann (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .E9565 Ba 1999
The Barefoot Book of Mother and Son Tales by Josephine Evetts-Secker; Helen Cann (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .E9565 Ba 1999
The Dark Way: stories from the spirit world by Virginia Hamilton; Lambert Davis (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .H154 Dar 1990
Eric Carle's Treasury of Classic Stories for Children by Aesop, Hans Christian Andersen, and the Brothers Grimm by Eric Carle; Wilhelm K. Grimm; Hans Christian Andersen (Based on a story by); Jacob Grimm (Based on a story by); Aesop (Based on a story by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8 .C2214 Es 1988
Stone Soup by Retold by John Warren Stewig
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .S8574 St 1991
Stone Soup by Ann McGovern
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .M173 S7 1986

American Folktales

The Adventures of Molly Whuppie and Other Appalachian Folktales by Anne Shelby; Paula McArdle (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .S5388 Ad 2007
Coyote: a trickster tale from the American Southwest by Gerald McDermott (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E 78 .S7 M136 1994
The Ghosts of Luckless Gulch by Anne Isaacs; Dan Santat (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.I762 Gho 2008
Pig-Boy: a trickster tale from Hawaiʻi by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .M159 Pig 2009
Raven: a trickster tale from the Pacific Northwest by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E99 .N77 M33 1993
Sister Tricksters: rollicking tales of clever females by Robert D. San Souci (Illustrator, Retold by); Daniel San Souci (Illustrator, Retold by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.S227 Skg 2006

Australian Folktales

Why Koala Has a Stumpy Tail by Tom Wrenn (Illustrator); Martha Hamilton; Mitch Weiss
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.H1535 Why 2008

Canadian Folktales

Spirited away : fairy stories of old Newfoundland by Tom Dawe
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.D3116 Spi 2017

Latin American Folktales

Birth of the Fifth Sun by Jo Harper; Irma Martinez Sizer (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1219.3 F6 H37 2008
The Coyote under the Table = El Coyote debajo de la Mesa: Folktales told in Spanish and English by Antonio Castro L. (Illustrator); Joe Hayes
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ74.1 .H32 2011
Dona Flor: A Tall Tale About a Giant Woman with a Great Big Heart by Pat Mora; Raúl Colón (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .M78819 Don 2005
The Dragon Slayer: Folktales from Latin America by Jaime Hernandez; Isabel Campoy (Introduction by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.7 .H465 Dr 2017
La Matadragones: Cuentos de Latinoamérica by Jaime Hernandez; Isabel Campoy (Introduction by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.7 .H465 Dr 2017
La Gallinita de la Pradera by Jackie Mims Hopkins; Henry Cole (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ74.1 .H68 2015
Martina, the Beautiful Cockroach : a Cuban folktale by Carmen Agra Deedy
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .D3782 Mar 2007
The Monkey's Haircut by John Bierhorst; Robert A. Parker (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1435.3 .F6 B53 1986
Musicians of the Sun by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F1219.76 .F65 M34 1997
Once upon a time : traditional Latin American tales = Había una vez : cuentos tradicionales latinoamericanos by Rueben Martínez
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .M3728 Onc 2010
Stories of Mexico's Independence Days and Other Bilingual Children's Fables by Eliseo "Cheo" Torres and Timothy L. Sawyer, Jr.
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ71 .S76 2005
Tales Our Abuelitas Told: a Hispanic folktale collection by Alma Flor Ada; F. Isabel Campoy; Felipe Davalos (Illustrator); Susan Guevara (Illustrator); Leyla Torres (Illustrator); Vivi Escriva (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .A218 An 2006
Whiskers, Tails and Wings: animal folktales from Mexico by Judy Goldman; Fabricio Vanden Broeck (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1219.3.F6 G65 2013

Native American Folktales

Arrow to the Sun: a Pueblo Indian tale by Gerald McDermott (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .M159 A4 1974
The Girl who Lived with the Bears by retold by Barbara Diamond Goldin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E 78 .N77 G64 1997
How the Stars Fell into the Sky: a Navajo legend by Jerrie Oughton; Lisa Desimini (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E99 .N3 O88 1992
Raven: a trickster tale from the Pacific Northwest by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E99 .N77 M33 1993

Russian Folktales

A Tale of Two Frogs: inspired by a Russian folktale by Martha Hamilton; Mitch Weiss; Tom Wrenn (Illustrator)
Call Number: ewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.2.H2515 Tal 2006

South American Folktales

Jabuti the Tortoise: a trickster tale from the Amazon by Gerald McDermott (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F2519.1 .A6 M33 2001
Love and Roast Chicken: a trickster tale from the Andes Mountains by Barbara Knutson (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F2230.1 .F6 K58 2004
Papagayo: the mischief maker by Gerald McDermott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .M139 P3 1980
The Stolen Smell by Martha Hamilton; Mitch Weiss; Tom Wrenn (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.H1535 Sto 2007

Caribbean Folktales

Martina, the Beautiful Cockroach : a Cuban folktale by Carmen Agra Deedy
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .D3782 Mar 2007
Raw Head, Bloody Bones: African-American tales of the supernatural by Mary E. Lyons (Selected by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1 .R226 1991
Rooster's Night Out by Baird Hoffmire (Illustrator); Mitch Weiss; Martha Hamilton
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.H1535 Roo 2007