Definition of Primary Resources
A primary source is firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic, an event, a person's life, original works of literature, and historical facts. It consists of original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation, condensation, evaluation or any type of commentary.
Examples:
- Autobiographies
- Constitution
- Data sets (e.g. Census statistics)
- Diaries
- Encyclicals (and other papal writing)
- Eyewitness accounts
- Interviews
- Letters and correspondence
- Memoirs
- Original documents (e.g. birth certificates, transcripts)
- Original works of art
- Patents
- Photographs
- Proceedings and minutes
- Scientific journal articles reporting research results
- Statues
- Speeches
- Surveys
- Technical reports
- Treaties
- Works of literature (e.g. fiction and poetry)
Primary Source Databases
A concise selection of Primary Resource Databases can be viewed below.
For a complete index, please visit http://libraries.luc.edu/databases/all?type=Primary+Resource.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Full-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
- American National Election Studies This link opens in a new window ANES produces data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to help researchers better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
- Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window Full-text collection of ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Scholarly articles, periodicals, and primary sources related to African Studies and the African Diaspora. Coverage: 1827 - 2003
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window Full-text articles providing news and insights into higher education. Create an account on the Chronicle's website using your Loyola email address. Activate the account by following the directions in your email. Download the app at http://chronicle.com/ipad and sign in with your new account. Coverage: 2015 - present.
- Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window Full-text British and American primary sources from the 18th century on history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more. Coverage: 1700s.
- Entrez PubMed This link opens in a new window Index of full-text biomedical articles, reference materials, and datasets from multiple open-access databases provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
- First Folio of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of the 1623 First Folio of Shakespeare.
- Goldsmiths'- Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850 This link opens in a new window Books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics related to economics and business activity, including commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, banking, manufacturing, trade and transport. Coverage: 1450-1850.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text historical newspaper articles from the Chicago Tribune (1905 - 1975), the New York Times (1850 - 2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
- ICPSR Data Access This link opens in a new window Archive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business.
- Illinois Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text daily and weekly newspapers from Illinois. Coverage: 1972 - present.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of the Illustrated London News, a weekly illustrated newspaper. Coverage: 1842 - 2003.
- Institute for Research on Poverty This link opens in a new window The IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window Index of consumer health resources, including detailed overviews, interactive tools, and videos related to diseases and disorders, as well as genetics, drugs, and medical tests.
- Naxos Sheet Music Library This link opens in a new window Digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new window Full-text primary sources from philosophical writing, including works by Aquinas , Augustine, Dewey, Hegel, Nietzsche, Peirce, Plato, Wittgenstein, and others.
- Roper Center This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of social sciences data sets and public opinion poll data with results. Coverage 1930 - present.
