Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
This online version of Colin Larkin's critically acclaimed 10-volume set (4th Edition) is available through Oxford Music Online.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
One of the most comprehensive online resources devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Containing more than 9,000 pages of material, 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples.
Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove)
Oxford Music Online comprises updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. Titles include: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992), The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014).
Oxford History of Western Music ONLINE
Includes the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music (OUP 2009) with notes, bibliographies, and further readings for all 69 chapters. Also includes more than 1,700 editorially selected links to relevant entries in Grove Music Online.
Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects. Inlcudes the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, A Dictionary of Opera Characters, New Grove Book of Opera Singers, Grove Book of Operas, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera.