Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Libraries: Home

The Loyola University Chicago Libraries serve as a hub for thoughtful, ethical approaches to artificial intelligence in academic settings. As AI tools become increasingly prevalent in research, teaching, and library services, we’re committed to helping our community navigate these technologies responsibly.

Please note: this guide was developed using Claude AI to synthesize existing content and presentations by University Libraries' personnel, as well as for general research and ideation.  Our goal is to employ these tools responsibly and transparently.  Please contact us with any questions or concerns.  Thanks!

Understanding AI and Large Language Models

Large Language Models (LLMs) are sophisticated AI systems trained on vast amounts of text to understand and generate human-like language. These models, which power tools like ChatGPT, Claude, and specialized research assistants, work by predicting the most likely next word or phrase based on patterns they learned from their training data.

What makes LLMs powerful :

• They can summarize complex information, generate drafts, and explain concepts in accessible language
• They’re available 24/7 for brainstorming, writing assistance, and initial research exploration
• They can help translate between languages and coding languages
• They excel at breaking down complex tasks into manageable steps

What to remember about LLMs :

• Hallucination - They sometimes generate convincing but incorrect information
• Training cutoffs - Their knowledge has specific end dates and may not include recent developments
• Bias - They reflect patterns and biases present in their training data
• Context limits - They work best with clear, specific prompts

What AI Is Good For (and What It’s Not)

AI tools excel at :

• First drafts of writing projects and brainstorming ideas
• Coming up with topic ideas for research papers and keywords for searching in library databases
• Explaining information in ways that are easy to understand
• Summarizing and outlining content
• Asking questions without fear of being judged ( always fact-check the results )
• Translating text to different languages
• Helping to write or debug computing code

AI has significant limitations :

• No real-time database access : Always use our Library Search , subject databases, or Google Scholar for scholarly sources
• Not for critical decisions : Never rely solely on AI for medical, legal, financial, or safety matters
• Requires verification : Always verify specific facts, statistics and citations independently
• Needs human review : AI-generated content requires substantial review before submission

You remain responsible for verifying all AI-generated information and ensuring it meets academic standards.

Ethical Frameworks for AI Adoption

The Libraries recommend a structured approach to evaluating AI tools. When evaluating any AI tool, consider four key principles:

• Transparency - Does the tool clearly explain how it works, what data it uses, and what its limitations are?
• Efficiency - Does the tool genuinely improve your workflow without creating new dependencies or problems?
• Analysis - Can you trace outputs back to reliable sources, and does the tool enhance rather than replace critical thinking?
• Privacy - How does the tool handle your data, and will your inputs be used to train future models?

For individual use, ask yourself whether the tool helps you accomplish academic goals more effectively while maintaining intellectual integrity. For institutional adoption, departments should assess whether tools align with educational missions and whether adequate support and training can be provided.

Popular AI Tools Comparison

As of April 2025, the basic versions of these AI tools are free; premium versions vary in cost:

• ChatGPT (OpenAI) - Writing and editing research, planning and organization, technical support conversational assistance
• Gemini (Google) - Generating answers, exploring topics, searching for information, enhancing Google productivity tools
• Perplexity (Perplexity) - AI-driven search with source tracking, organizing research threads
• Elicit (Elicit) - Finding and analyzing scholarly literature, searching articles from Semantic Scholar
• Scite (Research Solutions) - Finding research articles, determining how articles are cited, supporting vs. contrasting arguments (7-day free trial)
• ResearchRabbit (Research Rabbit) - Mapping literature visually, sharing research collections identifying collaborators
• Poe (Quora) - Access to multiple AI tools (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini) in one interface

Remember : While some generative AI tools claim to support scholarly research, they should be used cautiously. Always verify information through trusted sources like our library catalog , academic databases , or Google Scholar.

How to Cite and Disclose AI Use

Academic integrity requires transparent disclosure of AI assistance in your work. Always check course policies first, as requirements vary by field and instructor.

Effective disclosure should specify :

• The exact AI tool used
• The specific purpose it served
• Which portions of your work involved AI assistance
• How you verified or built upon AI outputs

Example : “I used ChatGPT-4 to generate initial research questions for this literature review. All final research questions were developed independently, and all sources were found and evaluated using traditional academic databases and criteria.”

Citation Examples

APA Format : OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (May 24 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat/

MLA Format : “Identify the main themes in The Lord of the Rings movie trilogy” prompt. ChatGPT , 24 May version, OpenAI, 12 June 2023, https://chat.openai.com/share/example-url.

Chicago Style : Chicago states it is not necessary to cite generative AI tools in a bibliography, but if required, treat like personal communication: ChatGPT. Response to “Tell me how to fix a flat bicycle tire.” July 21, 2023. OpenAI.

AI in Library Discovery Systems

Many library databases and search systems now include AI-powered features such as research assistants, smart recommendations, automated metadata, and natural language searching. The Libraries evaluate these tools carefully before enabling them, examining whether AI suggestions lead to relevant sources, include diverse perspectives, and allow users to understand how recommendations are generated.

When you encounter AI features in library systems, remember they’re tools to enhance—not replace—traditional research skills. Always evaluate suggested sources using standard criteria for academic quality and relevance.

Campus Resources and Support

The Loyola University Chicago Libraries offer:

• Research consultations to discuss AI tools for specific research needs
• Workshops on AI literacy and responsible use
• Subject-specific guidance on AI applications in various fields

Contact Us : Whether you’re navigating AI tools for the first time or wrestling with complex ethical questions, our librarians are here to help you think through the implications and make informed decisions.

Remember : Engaging with AI thoughtfully means joining an ongoing scholarly conversation. The most important skill is developing the critical thinking necessary to evaluate these tools as they evolve.

Additional Resources

For Instructors :

• Generative AI 2.0 - A Resource Guide for Faculty - Resources curated by Loyola Libraries for faculty
• The Sentient Syllabus Project - Range of topics on AI integration in teaching
• AI Text Generators and Teaching Writing - Pedagogical considerations
• Practical AI for Teachers and Students - Video series from Penn

Key Articles :

• AI Is Tearing Wikipedia Apart - Impact of AI on collaborative knowledge
• A Jargon-Free Explanation of How AI Large Language Models Work - Technical primer
• When AI Is Writing, Who Is the Author? - Authorship considerations

Acknowledgement : This guide incorporates content derivative of Penn State’s “ Generative AI: ChatGPT and Beyond ” LibGuide (CC BY 4.0).