LibGuides: Social Work Statistics: SOWK Statistics

Note

Many of the resources listed here will contain statistics broken down to cover smaller geographic groups. For example: International Sources mayl contain statistics for each country also; national sources may contain materials divided by state; and so on.

The organization and division descriptions are taken from the group's website.

Reference

Free Data Sets

ICPSR Data Access

American FactFinder: Download Center
ARDA Data Archive
ClinicalTrials.gov (NIH)
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
National Institute on Aging - National Institutes on Health
NORC at the University of Chicago - National Opinion Research Center
Norwegian Social Science Data Services (NSD)
Roper Center
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
UK Data Archive
Provides access to over 6,000 computer-readable datasets suitable for research and teaching purposes covering a range of different disciplines. The majority of the data are fully anonymised, unless otherwise specified in the relevant online catalogue records. If you are outside the UK you will need to apply for a UK Data Archive username and password at (http://www.data-archive.ac.uk/sign-up/credentials-application)Application for a UK Data Archive username, and then register with the UK Data Service. Some data collections are not available for non UK users so check the catalogue record for any access restrictions.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation
Produces the data and methodologies to monitor trends at national and international levels. It delivers comparative data for countries at all stages of development to provide a global perspective on education, science and technology, culture, and communication.
United States Census Bureau - Geography
Provides access to: publicly available printed maps and free, downloadable PDF maps; generalized, digital files suitable for use with a GIS, as a base for medium to small-scale thematic mapping; and to two mapping applications derived from Census Bureau base map data – American FactFinder, State&County QuickFacts, and the TIGER Map Server.
University of Chicago GIS Data
Data includes links to shapefiles for local political boundaries in the Chicago area. Included are Chicago ward map 1998, 1992, and 1986, community areas, police districts, 1980 census tract boundaries for Northeastern Illinois and Northwestern Indiana, and Chicago city limits,
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).