Research & Learning Librarian
LUC Libraries
25 E. Pearson #619
Chicago, IL 60611
aalvarado2@luc.edu
All-Hours Research Help
Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.
Biblical Commentaries in Ebook Editions
The library collection includes all published ebook editions from these authoritative biblical commentary series.
- Biblical Commentaries in Ebook EditionsUse the catalog's advanced search to identify the series and its ebook volumes using the strategy described in this short tutorial and summarized in the descriptions below.
- HermeneiaFrom Fortress Press; search "Hermeneia" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- International Critical CommentaryFrom Bloomsbury Publishing; search "International Critical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- Word Biblical CommentaryFrom Zondervan Academic; search "Word Biblical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new windowSubstantive, renowned commentary on the books of the Hebrew and Christian Bibles and the Apocrypha.
Biblical Commentaries Elsewhere in Library Collections
Use the library catalog's advanced search to most efficiently find these books, both print and electronic.
This interactive tutorial explains how to isolate commentary from other books on aspects of biblical studies.
Biblical Studies in Ejournal Articles
Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.
Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowAccess the research database and start your search.
Biblical Commentaries that Apply a Particular Methodological Approach
Add a keyword to your searches in Atla Religion Database related to the methodology. For example:
- Add womanist
- And, alternatively, also consider trying feminist
- Add economic
- And, alternatively, also consider trying poverty
- Add liberation
- And, alternatively, also consider trying immigration
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical InterpretationPublication Date: 2013Find explanations of the methodological approaches in this online background research source.
Annotated Bibliography Entries in Chicago Style
Prepare your citations using the notes-bibliography system, one of two techniques within Chicago style. Consult a quick guide to this style or use the library's ebook edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
Remember that a unique format exists for passages from the Bible. Find instructions for citing scripture at https://www.messiah.edu/murraylibrary/guides/bible_cite.pdf.