Databases for Subjects Often Cross-Listed with Women's Studies
Databases index journal articles as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings. Remember that women's and gender studies are interdisciplinary topics and, as such, one or more of a variety of databases may be best suited to your research. See the appropriate Research Guide for more complete lists of databases intended for particular disciplines.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on multidisciplinary topics related to women.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal and magazine articles on topics related to gender and sexual orientation.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on theology and religion.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) in American and Canadian history.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) in world history.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on communication and media studies.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on literature.
- Political Science Abstracts - World Wide This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on political science and law.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) in biomedicine.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on social work.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles (and other materials) on sociology and related disciplines.
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
- Alternative Press Index 1991-Present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from alternative, leftist, and radical magazines and newspapers from 1991 to date.
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from alternative, leftist, and radical magazines and newspapers between 1969 and 1990.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from journals and magazines in every subject area.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal archive that includes prominent titles focused on women's studies.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles published between 1907 and 1984.
- LUC Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowA search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection.
Databases Containing Dissertations and Theses
Records for dissertations and theses written at Loyola University Chicago are in our catalog.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides information about (and access to many) dissertations and theses written from 1861 forward.
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowIncludes records for dissertations and theses added to the catalogs of participating libraries.
