Abbreviations Help
Works by classical authors and classics journals are often abbreviated
Lists of abbreviations may be found in
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
and
Brill's New Pauly
A comprehensive source is the Dictionary of Biblliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines which is accessilble as an e-book through a link in its Pegasus catalog record
Citation Tools
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager
The online companion to A Writer's Reference provides rules and examples for Chicago, MLA, and APA formats
Refer to the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for additional information
See the Haverford College Department of Classics website for helpful information on citing ancient sources
GRE Practice Tool

Testing & Education Reference Center provides online GRE (as well as GMAT, LSAT, and MCAT) practice; create an account to access the tests and explanations for why an answer is correct or incorrect
This Guide

This guide identifies subject-specific research resources by format
Each tab contains a different kind of resource
This home tab provides information about and access to reference sources
plus research and study tools
Online Reference Sources
Start Here!
discover a topic, define a term, check a name or event, identify recommended sources
- Oxford Classical DictionaryEntries on all aspects of the Greco-Roman world
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeEntries on Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman cultures from the Bronze Age to the 5th century
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient EgyptEntries on Egyptian civilization from the predynastic era to the 7th century
- Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient WorldEnglish edition of Der Neue Pauly, an encyclopedia focused on the ancient world and classical scholarship
- Database of Latin DictionariesIncludes dictionaries for translating Latin into modern languages, for semantic and etymological excplanations of Latin words in Latin, and for defining historical Latin terms
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureEntries on visual art in the Classical Period
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsEntries on historical linguistics, among other areas
- Oxford Reference Online: ClassicsSubject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
Our Reference Collections
Greek-English and Latin-English dictionaries are shelved in the Reference Collection
on the first floor of Cudahy Library at the call numbers PA 445 and PA 2365 respectively

Use Reference Universe to search back-of-the-book indexes and entry titles in our reference collections; link to Pegasus to check location information or link to the entry if it is available online
Subject Librarian |
Mobile Library
Noteworthy Blog
Request Help
Visit us on the second floor of the Information Commons
Call, e-mail, text, or chat with us online - discover how here

Loading...
Loading...
