Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Library Services for Remote Learning: Faculty Support

Library Services for Teaching and Learning

The University Libraries is dedicated to supporting faculty in their research and teaching. While on-campus library services are limited, library staff are working remotely to help faculty get access to books, journals, movies, and more. Loyola faculty can:

Important Links and Contact Information

Library and Information Literacy Instruction

Librarians are available to provide instruction on research and information literacy topics to your online course. Synchronous instruction can be provided via Zoom. For asynchronous classes, librarians will work with you to develop course content that can be delivered to your students. In this environment, librarians are looking for creative ways to work with instructors to support teaching and learning. 

Research Consultations

Librarians can respond to questions via email, or schedule consultation meetings with students and faculty via zoom. http://libraries.luc.edu/ask/chat 

The University Libraries also provides a 24 hour online chat service for immediate library and research support. This service is staffed by Loyola Libraries staff Monday – Friday 9:00am – 5:00pm. 

Online chat for all other hours is covered by library staff at partner institutions. These librarians will be able to provide research support and help you access our online resources, but may not be familiar with questions that are specific to our library or university.  

Research Guides and Tutorials

Librarians can create specialized research guides and tutorials for your courses. Research guides can be useful for gathering a list of relevant online resources for a class or project, and providing contextual information for how best to use these resources. Tutorials can take the form of either an instructional video or a guided interactive experience using online resources. 

Sakai

Faculty can request that a librarian be added to their Sakai course. Librarians can add links to online resources, create lessons and other content, moderate forums, or join online class sessions.  

Archives and Special Collections

University Archives & Special Collections 

For spring 2021, the Loyola Archives & Special Collections (which includes the Congressional Archives) will be open by appointment only to current students, faculty, and staff.  Library staff will continue to answer reference questions and assist other researchers remotely to the fullest extent possible. 

Women & Leadership Archives (WLA) 

For spring 2021, access to the Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) is by appointment only. WLA staff will be onsite as needed to fulfill digitization and respond to research requests. The WLA  may accept donated materials and collections with the Director’s approval. Please contact wlarchives@luc.edu for additional information. 

Training Videos

Library Spaces

  • The Information Commons and Lewis Library will reopen for the spring semester on Tuesday, January 19 for quiet, individual study  Measures will be in place to ensure the health and safety of students. 

  • Group study rooms will be converted into individual study rooms. These rooms will be reservable by students to allow for study and participation in online courses at a safe distance from others. at https://libcal.luc.edu/spaces.  

  • Socially distanced individual study spaces including study tables, study carrels, and desktop computer workstations will also be available.

  • University guidelines for on-campus testing and return to campus must be followed. 

  • See the "How do I visit the library?" section of this guide for more information. 

Digital Library Materials

All of the University Libraries’ digital resources are available from off-campus, including: 

  • E-journals 

  • E-books 

  • Streaming Media 

  • Online research tools and databases 

  • Digitized primary source databases 

  • Digital collections from University Archives and Special Collections 

  • Online reference sources 

All digital library resources are available on the University Libraries’ website. Library staff are happy to help students and faculty find and access these resources.  

Place a request for new print or digital resources here: http://libraries.luc.edu/purchase  

Physical Library Materials

Direct access to the Libraries’ physical collection will be limited to scheduled, contactless pickup of books and other materials on campus. Students and faculty will not be able to browse the physical collections in Cudahy and Lewis Libraries, but library staff are available to help with identifying and selecting materials.

Starting in fall 2020, the University Libraries will provide a contactless pickup service for books and DVDs in Cudahy and Lewis Libraries. Library users can look materials up in the library catalog, place a hold request online, and schedule a time to pick up materials on campus. 

See the "How do I get a book?" section of this guide for complete instructions. 

HathiTrust for Access to Digitized Books

The University Libraries are a member of the HathiTrust, a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries. At this time, HathiTrust provides the Emergency Temporary Access Servis (ETAS), which permits library users to access digitized copies of many of the print books in our collection. If a book is sitting on our library shelves, there is a very good chance that the book is available in ETAS. 

See detailed information about how to use HathiTrust. 

Mail Delivery of New Books

The University Libraries will also attempt to purchase and deliver new print books by mail to Loyola students and faculty. This program for print books is limited to books needed for research papers and projects, and does not apply to assigned or recommended course texts.  Library staff will evaluate each request based on available purchase options and cost, and will have new books shipped directly to students and faculty. Library staff will follow up with instructions for when and how to return books.  

To make a request for a book:  

Complete this form on the University Libraries website: http://libraries.luc.edu/purchase, OR 

Send an email to the subject specialist librarian assigned to your school or department:  http://libraries.luc.edu/specialists 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan for books and other print materials will not be available this fall. However, students and faculty can request PDF scans of individual book chapters and journal articles, and have those scans delivered electronically. Requests for book chapters and articles can be placed via the interlibrary loan form on the library website.  https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html    

Course Reserves

The University Libraries will provide electronic course reserves services for spring 2021. In order to decrease the physical handling of materials and limit in-person transactions, print course reserves will not be available.  

Submit a request for course reserves here: http://libraries.luc.edu/reserves/faculty