Research Guides: Library Orientation: Background Information

Resources

Background Information
Online Streaming Videos

In the Lewis and Cudahy Libraries Reference Collections, there are many great print encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.

We also have many online reference (background) sources that are easy to access and easy to use. See below for some useful online resources

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Comprehensive and engaging, the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia contains thousands of articles. The Britannica Concise Encyclopedia has comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more. With an easy-to-use format, pronunciation help, relevant tables, and international maps, this is the reference source that will be used over and over.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports about current events; including social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Coverage: 1923 - present.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Photographs, graphics, charts, news stories, and audio clips provided by The Associated Press. International in scope. Coverage: 1826 - present.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on the coverage and analysis of US congressional legislation, includes how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress. Coverage: 1945 - present.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Index of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.

Below is a list of some of the licensed video databases available at Loyola. The subject content spans a diverse range of topics, from history to performing and fine arts.

Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
Some titles come with full Public Performance Rights. To enable closed captions or subtitles while watching a film, select the CC icon in the bottom-right corner of the video player. Accounts must be renewed yearly on campus and using a browser, rather than the app.

Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, feature films, interviews, and archival footage exploring the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Topics include LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, and religious perspectives on homosexuality. Coverage: 1920s - present.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Videos covering performances of the world's leading plays as well as documentaries on productions, experimental performances and interviews by hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Coverage: 1930s - present.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Theatrical monographs, scripts, and video productions from leading theatre companies, educational institutions, and arts collectives around the world.
Docuseek Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Documentary, independent, educational videos and films on a wide range of topics related to social issues, sustainability, the environment and more. Titles are available upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/avpurchase.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Videos covering a wide range of academic, vocational and life-skills topics. Titles are available upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/avpurchase.
Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Videos and audio covering a wide variety of subjects. Individual collections include Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.

For a complete list check out the Online Video Resources Library Guide!

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Library Orientation

Resources