Encyclopedias
Overview
You can use these encyclopedias as a starting point for finding background information for your research.
- Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowArticles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries on a variety of topics. Also includes tutorials on research basics.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
- Encyclopedia of psychology and religionThe Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion offers a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world’s religious and mythological traditions. The Encyclopedia applies a wide range of psychological approaches to understanding the form and content of religious and spiritual experience, at the same time offering insight into the meanings of various symbols and themes of numerous religions.
- Encyclopedia of religious and spiritual developmentThe Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development is the first reference work to focus on the developmental process of religion and spirituality across the human life span. This innovative Encyclopedia offers insight into the characteristics of people and their contexts that interact to influence religious and spiritual development over time.
- Encyclopedia of sex and gender culture society historyAddresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.The reference work is prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities. Topics include abortion, divorce, cloning, and reproductive technologies. In addition to the hundreds of new, signed articles on a wide variety of topics, this edition also features biographies of contemporary religious figures, thousands of photos, maps, and illustrations, and completely updated bibliographical citations. The 15th volume is a cumulative index to the entire encyclopedia.
Dictionaries & Commentaries
Overview
Subject-specific dictionaries such as the ones listed below can be useful for identifying relevant terminology pertaining to your topic. Commentaries can provide additional insight into theological topics.
The Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling by Call Number: Lewis Library | BV4005.5 .C66 2010ISBN: 9781426702310Publication Date: 2010-10-01The Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling is a condensed version of the Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling, first published in 1990, with new and updated articles. This book provides classic and key articles that explain current theories, trends, and practices in the field of Pastoral Care and Counseling. Contents include: Definitions; History and Biography; Issues of Power and Difference; Interfaith Issues and Methods; Clinical Method; and Pastoral Theological Method.- A Dictionary of Pastoral Care byCall Number: Lewis Library | BV4005.5 .D53 1987ISBN: 0281042608Publication Date: 1987
The Oxford Bible Commentary by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780191567254Publication Date: 2007-01-01The Oxford Bible Commentary is an exciting new ecumenical verse-by-verse commentary on the whole Bible, including all the books of the Apocrypha, for use by Christians, Jews, and members of other religious traditions, or of none. 1.5 million words long, it has been written by a team of internationally respected biblical scholars chosen for their expertise and ability to communicate rather than for their adherence to any particular faith. Now available in paperback, the Oxford Bible Commentary will provide the one-volume resource for the Bible for the 21st century.
The Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms, Second Edition by Call Number: Cudahy, Lewis | Reference; BR95 .M378 2014ISBN: 9780664238353Publication Date: 2014-04-21This second edition of the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms provides a comprehensive guide to nearly 7,000 theological terms, 1,000 more terms than the first edition. McKim's succinct definitions cover a broad range of theological studies and related disciplines: contemporary theologies, biblical studies, church history, ethics, feminist theology, global theologies, hermeneutics, liberation theology, liturgy, ministry, philosophy, philosophy of religion, postcolonial theology, social sciences, spiritually, worship, and Protestant, Reformed, and Roman Catholic theologies. This new edition also includes cross-references that link readers to other related terms, commonly used scholarly abbreviations and abbreviations for canonical and deuterocanonical texts, an annotated bibliography, and a new introductory section that groups together terms and concepts, showing where they fit within particular theological categories. No other single volume provides the busy student, and the theologically experienced reader, with such easy access to so many theological definitions.
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677
Subjects:
African Studies and the African Diaspora, Anthropology, Criminal Justice &
Criminology, Pastoral Studies, Theology & Religion