Research Resources
Access Resources at Loyola
As a Loyola student, you have access to thousands of print and digital resources that can support your coursework and research for UNIV 102--at no direct cost to you. If you are accessing resources off-campus (such as at home or at work), you'll need to log in using your Loyola email address and password to view paywalled materials. See the Off-Campus Access page for more details.
- Loyola Libraries' WebsiteStarting point for accessing library resources and services.
- Databases A-Z ListSee our full list of databases, including subject-specific, reference, and streaming media.
- Journal Holdings SearchBrowse journals by category or search for titles of individual journals.
Research Guides
Below is a curated list of research guides pertinent to students enrolled in Pastoral Studies. View the full list of research guides on the library's website.
Advanced Catalog Search
Using an advanced search can help you fine-tune your search by choosing filters and categories such as Subject, Author, Location, and more. Learn more about using the Advanced Search feature in the library's catalog here.
- LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowA search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. The advanced search provides filters and scopes to narrow your search results.
- WorldCat Discovery Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowAdjust result list sort to relevance in order to eliminate weighting of locally-held titles.
Archives and Institutional Repository
- Digital CollectionsDigital collections at Loyola University Chicago provide primary sources to the history of Loyola, the Chicago area, and other issues of importance to the university. In addition, digital collections contain repositories of work by Loyolans past and present.
- Loyola's eCommonsOpen-access, sustainable, and secure resource created to preserve and provide access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the university community for the benefit of Loyola students, faculty, staff, and the larger academic community. Includes faculty scholarship, digitized theses and dissertations, and yearbooks.
- LUC University Archives & Special CollectionsThe University Archives serves as the institutional memory of Loyola University Chicago with the mission to collect, preserve, organize, describe, and make available university records of enduring historical value. Browse the Collections by Subject to find materials related to your potential research topic.
- Women and Leadership Archives at Loyola University ChicagoCollection strengths include the women's movement, social justice activism, feminist theologians, and women in politics, education, and the sciences.
Access Resources Outside of Loyola
If the library does not have a resource that you need, you can request it using our Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan services. Additionally, your affiliation with Loyola means that you can access materials located at other colleges and universities across the Chicagoland area.
- Document Delivery and Interlibrary LoanSubmit requests for materials available outside of Loyola. If you're a research or teaching assistant, you can work with your faculty member to borrow materials in their name. First time users will need to register for an account using their Loyola (UVID) username and password.
- How do I use Interlibrary Loan?Instructions and tips for requesting items through ILL.
- Reciprocal Borrowing PrivilegesLoyola University Chicago Libraries has agreements in place with many other institutions that allow Loyola students, faculty, and staff to use the facilities and collections of other academic libraries.
Chat with Us
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677
Subjects:
African Studies and the African Diaspora, Anthropology, Criminal Justice &
Criminology, Pastoral Studies, Theology & Religion