Paralegal Studies
This guide will introduce you to legal resources that are available to you. In addition to this guide, it is highly recommended to look at the School of Law Library Paralegal Resource Guide. If at any point you are not sure where to find specific information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat program.
OER: Free Ebooks
Dictionaries
- Law.com Dictionary
Enter a legal term, search the definitions, or browse by first letter of a word or phrase. - OpenJurist's Black's & Ballentine's Law Dictionaries Legal Dictionary
A dictionary of basic U.S. legal terminology. - Nolo's Free Dictionary
Plain-English definitions for hundreds of legal terms, searchable and browseable. - FindLaw Legal Dictionary
Based on Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law. - WEX Free legal dictionary & encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Insitute.
HEINonline
Provided by the Loyola University Law Library, HEINoline offers access to many U.S. government materials: Congressional documents, treaties, and legislative histories; Executive branch publications; Supreme Court reports, and the U.S. Statues at Law.
Databases
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full-text of historical and government documents in a searchable, image-based format. Includes law journals and historical collections of U.S. federal government documents. Coverage: 1925 - present.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of the Congressional Record, Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, and the Congressional Globe. Coverage: 1789 - present.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window Archive of public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress. Coverage: 1789 - present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
Legal Forms
LexisOne
Provides over 6,000 free forms from the Matthew Bender collection, with free registration.
WashLaw's Legal Forms
Links to a wide variety of legal forms
Search USA.Gov - Forms
Links directly to federal forms and applications by agency name.
Understanding Legal Research
Legal Citation
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation, also known as the Bluebook, this is the online version of the official manual for legal citation from LII.
- How to Read a Legal Citation from Carnegie Mellon University
- Reading Legal Citations from Boston College
- Bluebook 101 from the University of Washington
- Bluebook Guide from Georgetown University
Medical Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Taber's brings meanings to life. Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. Taber's 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information.Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0803659040Publication Date: 2017-01-31
- Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780128000342Publication Date: 2015-11-04
- Dorland's Medical Dictionary by Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. It delivers more total entries than in any other dictionary of its kind, including several thousand new words, as well as 500 new illustrations to aid your understanding.Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781455709854Publication Date: 2011-01-01