Curriculum Collection Research Guide
This guide is intended to highlight resources contained within the Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library, which will help students enrolled in the School of Education to better understand and develop curricula for classroom use. The tabs at the top of the page, and described below, can help you find these resources.
The Databases tab lists databases for research on teaching methods and lesson plans. There are also databases for literary research on children's authors and works.
The Resources by Content Area tab contains both fiction and non-fiction books, as well as instructional strategies for content areas (math, science, language arts, etc.) as well as early childhood education, special education, multicultural education, and teaching across the curriculum. Within each subject area, resources are differentiated (where applicable) by grade level, from early childhood education through secondary education.
The Non-Fiction/Informational Texts tab contains non-fiction materials for both Elementary and Middle School level readers. Entries are linked to the catalog and include both English and Spanish-language materials.
The Differentiated Instruction tab contains resources covering Differentiated Instruction and Response to Intervention (RTI) for any classroom at any grade level.
The Reluctant Readers tab can help you find poetry or fiction for even the most reluctant reader.
The Multi-cultural/Culturally Responsive Books tab contains both fiction and non-fiction books, as well as instructional strategies for multicultural education.
The Award Winning Books tab contains catalog links to the most current award-winning children's books available at Loyola.
The Fables tab contains fables, including Aesop's fables, in the Curriculum Collection.
The Fairy Tales tab contains fairy tales and fairy tale variants, including Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, etc.
The Folktales tab contains folktales from around the world.
The Holidays tab contains books on various holidays around the world.
The Graphic Novels/Manga tab highlights some of the graphic novels available within the curriculum library. Topics include both biographies and classic literature.
The Reference Collection tab highlights Reference works related to Curriculum in the Lewis Reference Collection.
The Need Help? tab takes you to our Help page where you can chat with a librarian or request an appointment.
Most Used Education Resources
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles and conference papers covering education research from early childhood to higher education for all educational specialties. Coverage: 1880 - present.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticle abstracts covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage: 1924 - present.
- ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on children's health and development, pedagogical theory and practice for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. Coverage: 1930 - present.
Subject Guide
Liaison for the School of Education
Liaison for the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
25 E. Pearson #615
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6949 voice
312-915-6244 fax
truppman@luc.edu
noteworthy
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.
Children's Book Centers
- The Center for Children's BooksThe Center for Children’s Books at the School of Information Sciences is a research center with additional interests in education and service. Our mission is to facilitate the creation and dissemination of exemplary and progressive research and scholarship related to youth-focused resources, literature, and librarianship.
- Children's Literature CenterThe Children's Literature Center assists users in gaining access to all children's materials dispersed throughout the Library. The Library of Congress holds between 500,000 and 600,000 children's books and periodicals including maps, visual and audio media and secondary material.
- Cooperative Children's Book CenterThe Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC) is a unique examination, study and research library of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The CCBC’s noncirculating collections include current, retrospective and historical books published for children and young adults.